UNVEILED: The 2019 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year Semifinalists

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

HOUSTON – Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, the leading publication for all things football in Texas, and the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl proudly announce the 25 semifinalists for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year Award presented by Wells Fargo.

Mr. Texas Football presented by Wells Fargo annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on TexasFootball.com. On December 6th, 10 finalists will be named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2019 Mr. Texas Football Award presented by Wells Fargo will be announced prior to the 2019 Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl, which will be played on Friday, Dec. 27 at NRG Stadium in Houston.

2019 Mr. Texas Football Semifinalists

ATH Devon Achane, Fort Bend Marshall
QB Mike Chandler II, Converse Judson
ATH Ben Crockett, McLean
DB Dylon Davis, Abilene Cooper
QB Dematrius Davis, Galena Park North Shore
RB Jermiah Dobbins, Lubbock Estacado
RB Aaron Dumas, El Paso Americas
QB Quinn Ewers, Southlake Carroll
WR Loic Fouonji, Midland Lee
QB Roman Fuller, Decatur
QB Bo Hogeboom, Argyle
QB Ja’Quinden Jackson, Duncanville
DE Landon Jackson, Pleasant Grove
QB Haynes King, Longview
RB Colton Marshall, Hawley
ATH Dwight McGlothern, Klein Oak
LB Jax McCauley, Austin Vandegrift
RB Kendre Miller, Mount Enterprise
WR Marvin Mims, Frisco Lone Star
QB Sean O’Keefe, San Saba
QB Ken Seals, Weatherford
WR Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Rockwall
RB Campbell Speights, McAllen Memorial
RB Ashton Stredick, Needville
ATH Ace Whitehead, Lampasas

Former winners of the award include 2018 Heisman Trophy winner and No. 1 overall pick Kyler Murray (2013 and 2014 winner, Allen), 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), Tampa Bay Buccaneers running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated), current Oklahoma State quarterback Spencer Sanders (2017 winner, Denton Ryan) and Carolina Panthers quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Mission Veterans Memorial quarterback Landry Gilpin, now at Southwestern University, took home the honor in 2018.

The 2019 Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents. The 2018 Bowl featured the Baylor Bears, representing the Big 12 Conference, and the Vanderbilt Commodores, representing the SEC. The Bears defeated the Commodores, 45-38, in a thrilling offensive shootout. Overall, the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl has ranked in the Top-5 in attendance since 2014, trailing only the Rose, Cotton, Peach and Sugar Bowls in that time. 

For more information on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit http://www.academytexasbowl.com/ or www.texasfootball.com.

About the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl

The Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl is owned and operated by ESPN Events and managed locally by Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. The Bowl will showcase teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, two of the country’s premier conferences, for the next two years. The Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl has been a tremendous success both on and off the field over the years. The game has ranked fifth in attendance since 2014 behind only the Rose, Peach, Cotton and Sugar Bowls. In terms of its community impact, the bowl has generated an average of $50 million annually for the Houston economy and through its relationship with DePelchin Children’s Center, its official charitable beneficiary, more than $1.6 million in financial support has been donated to the city’s oldest children’s charity.

About Dave Campbell’s Texas Football:

For nearly 60 years, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has been “the bible” to millions of football fans across the Lone Star State. The annual summer edition of the magazine remains a rite of passage for all Texans, previewing every football team in the state — from the rabid world of Texas high school football, through the college ranks, and into the Dallas Cowboys and the Houston Texans. Over the course of six decades, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football remains the undisputed leader in Texas high school football, Texas college football and more.

TexasFootball.com is the online home of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, covering high school football, college football and recruiting all across the Lone Star State. From thought-provoking commentary to videos to podcasts to its daily live show, nobody covers football in Texas like TexasFootball.com.

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!