7on7 Qualifying Tournaments

2021 State Qualifying Tournaments (SQT's)

State Qualifying Tournaments (SQT) Requirements and Procedures


New to the 2021 7on7 season.


Softshell Helmets must be worn by all participants while on the field.

The manufacture and helmet that meets the qualifications below, can

be used, after it has been approved. A list of approved helmets will be



Headgear requirements:

Carry a $2 million dollar Product Liability Insurance Policy and name Texas 7on7 State Championships as additionally insured.

Headgear must have a 4 or 5 rating by Virginia Tech Helmet Labs.

Headgear must have a fully functional retention system or chin strap.

Headgear must provide full head coverage.

Headgear must have no hard or metal component parts.

Headgear must be soft shelled and unable to cause harm to others.


Length of play will be 15 minutes halves….. turn around and start next 15 minute half…. with a 10 minute break between games


List of approved headgear to date:

 GameBreaker GB & GameBreaker PRO 

 GameBreaker www.gamebreaker.com 


Note: To register your team for an SQT you MUST contact the person designated for that specific SQT below either by email or phone.



Division I Site Date Contact E-mail Qualifiers SQT Size
Plano Plano  8-May Todd Ford todd.ford@pisd.edu 3 24
Arlington Arlington 15-May Jeff Kemp 7on7@earthlink.net 2 16
Round Rock Westwood 15-May Anthony Wood anthony_wood@roundrockisd.org 2 16
CFISD East Cy Creek 15-May Greg McCaig gregory.mccaig@cfisd.net 2 16
Midland Midland 22-May Taylor Potts tbpotts12@gmail.com 2 16
Grapevine Grapevine 22-May Mike Alexander michael.alexander@gcisd.net 3 24
Cavalier Lake Travis 22-May Hank Carter carterh@ltisdschools.org 2 16
CFISD West Cy Falls 22-May Chris Brister christopher.brister@cfisd.net 2 16
The Woodlands The Woodlands 28-May Emory Bartolazzi ebartolazzi@conroeisd.net 2 16
Lubbock Coronado 29-May James Garfield james.garfield@lubbockisd.org 2 16
Texans Justin Northwest 29-May Bill Poe bpoe@nisdtx.org 3 24
LCISD Richmond Foster 4-Jun Shaun McDowell semcdowell@lcisd.org 2 16
Eastwood El Paso 5-Jun Julio Lopez jlopez140@yisd.net 2 16
Blue Raider Hurst Bell 5-Jun Jeff Kemp 7on7@earthlink.net 3 24
Abilene Abilene 5-Jun Bill Pearce pearcebill@att.net 2 16
Sharyland Snake Pit Mission Sharyland 5-Jun Tony Guerrero tguerrerorgv@yahoo.com 3 24
Arlington Lamar 11-Jun Jeff Kemp 7on7@earthlink.net 3 24
A&M Consolidated Veterans Park-College Station 11-Jun Lee Fedora leefedora@csisd.org 2 16
Dickinson Dickinson 11-Jun John Snelson jsnelson@dickinsonisd.org 2 16
Westlake Westlake 11-Jun Tony Salazar tsalazar@eanesisd.net 2 16
Tyler Lee Park 12-Jun Randy Womble rwomble@gamcosupply.com 2 16
Dayton Dayton 12-Jun Blake Ware blake.ware@daytonisd.net 2 16
River City Alamo Heights 12-Jun Ron Rittiman rrittimann@ahisd.net 2 16
Texans Corpus Christi 12-Jun Craig Charlton craig.charlton@ccisd.us 3 24
Keller Fossil Ridge 18-Jun Mike Glaze mikeglaze1@yahoo.com 2 16
Grizzlies Houston Sports Park 18-Jun Mike Jackson mjjackson@conroeisd.net 2 16
RGV Mid Valley  Weslaco 19-Jun Tony Guerrero tguerrerorgv@yahoo.com 2 16
Sam Brown Houston Sports Park 20-Jun Mike Jackson mjjackson@conroeisd.net 3 24


Division II Site Date Contact E-mail Qualifiers SQT Size
McLennan County Lorena 8-May Ray Biles raybiles@lorenaisd.net 1 8
Graham Graham 15-May Kenny Davidson ken.davidson@grahamisd.com 2 16
Paris Paris 15-May Herb Smith herb.smith@parisisd.net 1 8
Bulldogs Hitchcock 15-May Craig Smith csmith@hitchcockisd.org 1 8
Roughnecks Columbia 15-May Brent Mascheck brent.mascheck@cbisd.com 1 8
CES Houston Sports Park 15-May Mike Jackson mjjackson@conroeisd.net 2 16
Billies Fredricksburg 15-May Lance Moffett lancem@fisd.org 2 16
Melissa Melissa 22-May Matt Nally mnally@melissaisd.org 2 16
Tyler Chapel Hill 22-May Jeff Riordan riordanj@chapelhillisd.org 2 16
Bulldogs Burnet 22-May Jerod Rye jrye@burnetcisd.net 2 16
Blue Jays Needville 27-May Mike Giles gilesm@needvilleisd.com 1 8
Midlothian Midlothian Heritage 29-May Lee Wiginton lee_wiginton@misd.gs 2 16
Pirates Rockport 29-May Jay Siebert jseibert@acisd.org 1 8
Longhorns Hamshire-Fannett 29-May Mark Waggoner mwaggoner@hfhorns.net 1 8
Texans Wimberley 4-Jun Doug Warren doug.warren@wimberleyisd.net 1 8
Dumas Dumas 5-Jun Aaron Dunnam aaron.dunnam@dumasisd.org 1 8
Brownwood Brownwood 5-Jun Sammy Burnett samuel.burnett@brownwoodisd.org 2 16
Calallen Corpus Christi 5-Jun Phil Danaher pdanaher@calallen.org 1 8
Indians Jourdanton 5-Jun Darrell Andrus dandrus@jisdtx.us 1 8
Big Country Jim Ned 11-Jun Brandon Mascorro bigcountry7on7@gmail.com 2 16
Gobblers Cuero 11-Jun Jack Alvarez jalvarez@cueroisd.org 1 8
Celina Celina 12-Jun Bill Elliott billelliott@celinaisd.com 2 16


Division III Site Date Contact E-mail Qualifiers SQT Size
Stamford Stamford 15-May Britt Hart bhart@stamfordisd.net 2 8
Bison Buffalo 15-May Evan Stone stonede@buffaloisd.net 2 8
Rice Raider Rice Consolidated (Altair) 15-May Jared Sloan jsloan@riceraiders.net 2 8
Hamilton Hamilton 22-May Casey Jones cjones@hamiltonisd.org 2 8
Wink Wink 28-May Brian Gibson bgibson@wlisd.net 2 8
Dublin Dublin 29-May Bob Cervetto bcervetto@gmail.com 2 8
Childress Childress 29-May Jason Sims jsims@childressisd.net 2 8
Cougars Rosebud-Lott 29-May Gary Zeinert Gzeinert85@gmail.com 2 8
Pirates Poth 29-May Jeff Luna jluna@pothisd.us 2 8
Archer City Archer City 5-Jun Shad Hanna shanna@archercityisd.net 2 8
Eagles Lexington 5-Jun B.L. Miller millerb@lexingtonisd.net 2 8
Broncos Sonora 5-Jun Col. Pete Bradley gr6gr6@verizon.net 2 8
Bulldogs Colmesneil 12-Jun Cody Day cody.day@colmesneilisd.net 2 8
Ganado Indians Ganado 5-Jun Brent Bennett bbennett@ganadoisd.net    
Abilene Abilene 11-Jun Mike Sneed msneed9698@yahoo.com 2 8
Waskom Waskom 11-Jun Whitney Keeling wkeeling@waskomisd.net 2 8



                              State Qualifying Tournaments (SQT's) are held throughout the state.  

These tournaments are hosted by individuals selected by the Organization's SQT Directors.  

Each SQT follows similar procedures as outlined by the Board of Directors.

Teams that qualify at an SQT are eligible for the State 7on7 Tournament.

* Note:  SQT’s range in size from 8 team tournaments to 32 team tournaments.
 8 team SQT = 1 qualifier     |     16 team SQT = 2 qualifiers
24 team SQT = 3 qualifiers     |     32 team SQT = 4 qualifiers  

** Specified Division III SQT's may qualify 2 teams **


Tournament Fees

There will be a flat fee of $300 per team for all SQTs. This is regardless of minimum number of players on the roster. Maximum roster size is 20 players.

A Deposit of $180 must be sent to the SQT host school when registering for an SQT Tournament. (This is a non-refundable deposit). Remainder of fee paid at on-site registration.


The State 7on7 Tournament is divided into 3 divisions.

Division I consists of teams that compete in 5A or 6A (public) & SPC or TAPPS Division I (private).

Division II consists of teams that compete 4A  and 3A D1 (public) & all other privates.

Division III consists of teams that compete in 3A D2 and below.  (No private schools will compete in this division)