Mr. Texas Football Player of the Week

Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, along with Wells Fargo and in conjunction with the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists are named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2019 Mr. Texas Football Award presented by Wells Fargo will be announced prior to the 2019 Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl.

Former winners of the award include 2018 Heisman Trophy winner and No. 1 overall pick Kyler Murray (2013 and 2014 winner, Allen), 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), Oklahoma State quarterback Spencer Sanders (2017 winner, Denton Ryan), Tampa Bay Buccaneers running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated) and Carolina Panthers quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Mission Veterans Memorial quarterback Landry Gilpin took home the award in 2018.

The 2019 Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents.

For more information, visit For more on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit the official page.

2019 Week-by-Week Winners:

Week 1: Mount Enterprise RB/DB Kendre Miller

2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Week 14: Eli Salinas, San Saba

Week 13: Colton Green, Buffalo

Week 12: Jacob Rosales, Sharyland Pioneer

Week 11: Caden Fedora, A&M Consolidated

Week 10: Daniel Vasquez, Rio Hondo

Week 9: Luis Ramos, Dumas

Week 8: Cameron Rickett, Springtown

Week 7: Darius White, Hardin

Week 6: Quintan Jackson, FW Benbrook

Week 5: Josiah Ortega, Rio Hondo

Week 4: Jacob Mechler, Andrews

Week 3: Anthony Watkins, FW South Hills 

Week 2: Ashton Stredick, Needville

Week 1: Austin Phillips, Wolfforth Frenship

2017 Week-by-Week Winners:

2017 Week 8 winner, McKinney RB Matt Gadek
(Photo by Gary Sanderson)

Week 1: Christian Huey, Sundown

Week 2: Ender Freeman, Abilene Cooper

Week 3: Tyrees Whitfield, Abilene Cooper

Week 4: Wesley Huitt, Mildred

Week 5: Jaquan Jackson, DeKalb

Week 6: Reese Mason, Magnolia

Week 7: Chad Reeves, Daingerfield

Week 8: Matt Gadek, McKinney

Week 9: Zach Gomez, La Villa

Week 10: Dylan Davidson, Bay City

Week 11: LaDavion Johnson, Linden-Kildare

Week 12: Riley Russell, Texas High

Week 13: Jeff Williams, Tidehaven

Week 14: Keyshawn Johnson, Falls City