Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year Award

HOUSTON – Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, the leading publication for all things football in Texas, and the Texas Bowl proudly announce the 100-player watch list for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year Award. The voters, when appropriate, will add players to the watch list.

Mr. Texas Football annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists will be named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2021 Mr. Texas Football Award will be announced prior to the Texas Bowl, which will be played at NRG Stadium in Houston on January 4th, 2022.

Current players on this year’s watch list include:

Austin Westlake QB Cade Klubnik

Duncanville DL Omari Abor

Lindsay QB Kolt Schuckers

Shiner DL/RB Dalton Brooks

Houston Kinkaid WR Dillon Bell

Lake Travis WR Caleb Burton

Longview WR Jalen Hale

Katy RB Seth Davis

Rockwall-Heath QB Josh Hoover

Euless Trinity ATH Ollie Gordon

Tuscola Jim Ned RB Xavier Wishert


Former winners of the award include 2018 Heisman Trophy winner and No. 1 overall pick QB Kyler Murray (2013 and 2014 winner, Allen), 2012 Heisman Trophy winner QB Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns RB Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), former Tampa Bay Buccaneers RB Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated), current Oklahoma State QB Spencer Sanders (2017 winner, Denton Ryan) and Dallas Cowboys QB Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Hallettsville and Texas Longhorns RB Jonathon Brooks took home the award in 2020.

The Texas Bowl will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents, taking place at NRG Stadium in Houston on January 4, 2022.

For more information on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit or


About The Texas Bowl

 The Texas Bowl is owned and operated by ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN, and managed locally by Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. The bowl has showcased teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, two of the country’s premier conferences, since 2014. The Texas Bowl has been a tremendous success both on and off the field over its first 14 years as it is the fifth-most attended bowl game in the country since 2016. The bowl generates over $30 million annually for the Houston economy and has donated nearly $2 million in financial support and millions more in promotional support to DePelchin Children’s Center, the bowl’s official charitable beneficiary.


About Dave Campbell’s Texas Football:

For more than 60 years, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has been “the bible” to millions of football fans across the Lone Star State. The annual summer edition of the magazine remains a rite of passage for all Texans, previewing every football team in the state — from the rabid world of Texas high school football, through the college ranks, and into the Dallas Cowboys and the Houston Texans. Over the course of six decades, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football remains the undisputed leader in Texas high school football, Texas college football and more. is the online home of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, covering high school football, college football and recruiting all across the Lone Star State. From thought-provoking commentary to videos to podcasts to its daily live show, nobody covers football in Texas like


2021 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year

Preseason Watch List

DL Omari Abor, Duncanville

WR Lonnie Adkism, CC Miller

DL Bear Alexander, Denton Ryan

DB Bryan Allen, Aledo

WR BJ Allen, Gladewater

ATH Bryce Anderson, Beaumont West Brook

WR Nicholas Anderson, Katy

RB Logan Ausbrook, Wylie Prep

OL Kelvin Banks, Humble Summer Creek

LB Vincent Banks, Houston Emery-Weiner

WR Dillon Bell, Houston Kinkaid

WR Donny Bishop, Crane

WR Anthony Black, Coppell

WR Kaleb Black, Klein Oak

DB Terrance Brooks, Little Elm

DL/RB Doug Brooks, Shiner

ATH Dalton Brooks, Shiner

DE Derrick Brown, Texas High

WR Caleb Burton, Lake Travis

OL Devon Campbell, Arlington Bowie

DB Kyron Chambers, South Oak Cliff

ATH Ke'Shawn Clater, Mart

DL RJ Cooper, Arlington Martin

RB Braden Courtney, Timpson

WRR Ashton Cozart, Richland

DL Isaiah Crawford, Post

LB Jordan Crook, Duncanville

RB Ernest Davila, Poteet

RB Seth Davis, Katy

ATH Johntre Davis, El Campo

ATH Cameron De La Pena, CC Veterans Memorial

OL Kameron Dewberry, Humble Atascocita

QB Drew Dickey, Austin Regents

RB Bryson Donnell, Tyler Legacy

ATH Cristian Driver, Argyle Liberty Christian

OL Jaylen Early, Duncanville

QB Bo Edmundson, Lake Travis

RB Zach Evans, Rockwall-Heath

QB Nick Evers, Flower Mound

WR Jay Fair, Rockwall-Heath

RB DeAnthony Gatson, Newton

WR Matthew Golden, Klein Cain

ATH Ollie Gordon, Euless Trinity

TE Donovan Green, Dickinson

DB Jaylon Guilbeau, Port Arthur Memorial

WR Jalen Hale, Longview

RB Kaden Halk, May

DB Denver Harris, Galena Park North Shore

ATH Ish Harris, Pilot Point

LB Martrell Harris, The Woodlands College Park

QB Josh Hoover, Rockwall-Heath

WR Jordan Hudson, Garland

DB Landon Hullaby, Mansfield

WR Stephon Johnson, DeSoto

RB Tavorus Jones, El Paso Burges

TE Nathan Jones, Brock

WR Izaha Jones, Normangee

DB Austin Jordan, Denton Ryan

ATH Jared Kerr, Lexington

QB Cade Klubnik, Austin Westlake

RB DeJuan Lacy, North Crowley

QB Chris Lee, Azle

LB Kip Lewis, Carthage

WR Chris Marshall, Fort Bend Marshall

RB Damien Martinez, Lewisville

QB Owen McCown, West Rusk

WR Ilonzo McGregor, Tyler Chapel Hill

LB Kobie McKinzie, Lubbock-Cooper

RB Emeka Megwa, Keller Timber Creek

RB Jamarion Miller, Tyler Legacy

RB Dareion Murphy, Floresville

ATH Malcom Murphy, Franklin

WR CJ Nelson, Richland

ATH Ryan Niblett, Aldine Eisenhower

QB Alex Orji, Sachse

RB Rueben Owens, El Campo

ATH Jeremy Pattton, Tenaha

LB Harold Perkins, Cy Park

RB JD Price, Denison

RB Marc Ramirez, Wellington

QB Garrett Rangel, Frisco Lone Star

RB Richard Reese, Bellville

ATH Jimmy Roberts, Westbrook

ATH Bravion Rogers, La Grange

DL Jadon Scarlett, Argyle

QB Kolt Schuckers, Lindsay

ATH Jaxson Slanker, College Station

RB Sergio Snider, Fort Worth Nolan

WR Evan Stewart, Frisco Liberty

QB Cutter Stewart, Orange Grove

DL Malick Sylla, Katy

DB Bobby Taylor, Katy

QB Brandon Tennison, Gilmer

WR Noah Thomas, Clear Springs

ATH Brenen Thompson, Spearman

QB Richard Torres, San Antonio Southside

OL Neto Umeozulu, Allen

QB Conner Weigman, Bridgeland

WR Armani Winfield, Lewisville

RB Xavier Wishert, Tuscola Jim Ned





2018 Winner: Mission Veterans Memorial QB Landry Gilpin

Past winners of the award:

2019: WR, Marvin Mims, Frisco Lone Star

2018: QB, Landry Gilpin, Mission Veterans Memorial

2017: QB Spencer Sanders, Denton Ryan
2016: QB Roshauud Paul, Bremond
2015: QB Jett Duffey, Mansfield Lake Ridge
2014: QB Kyler Murray, Allen
2013: QB Kyler Murray, Allen
2012: RB Dontre Wilson, DeSoto
2011: RB Johnathan Gray, Aledo
2010: QB Johnny Manziel, Kerrville Tivy
2009: QB Darian “Stump” Godfrey, Gilmer
2008: QB Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis
2007: RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Lamar Consolidated