DCTF All-State college teams headlined by Sincere McCormick, Marcus Jones

Photo by Dave Campbell's Texas Football

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

Dave Campbell’s Texas Football 2021 postseason All-Texas College teams include at least one player from each of the 12 FBS programs in the state. The list is headlined by Offensive Player of the Year Frank Harris from UTSA and Defensive Player of the Year Jalen Pitre of Baylor. UTSA head coach Jeff Trayor edged out Baylor’s Dave Aranda for head coach of the year. Alton McCaskill, a running back from Houton, and Tyreek Chapman, a defensive back from Texas A&M, were named freshmen of the year. 

The teams are split into a first and second team with 11 players selected on each side of the ball. Players of the year were not eligible for first-team selection, and first-team players such as Xavier Worthy were not eligible for freshman of the year awards. In all, 52 players were included on the All-State teams including two place kickers, two punters, and two returners. Houston’s Marcus Jones – first-team cornerback and returner – was the only player listed twice. 

Texas A&M led the way with nine players named to the list, including three on the first-team defensive unit. UTSA and Houston were tied in second with eight players each. Baylor finished with seven. SMU, Texas, and UTEP had four players make the list, while North Texas and Texas Tech managed a pair of nominations. TCU, Rice, and Texas State are represented by one player each. 

In addition, eight student-athletes were honored by DCTF as superlatives at their respective positions. 

Offensive Player of the Year: Frank Harris, UTSA
Defensive Player of the Year: Jalen Pitre, Baylor
Coach of the Year: Jeff Traylor, UTSA
Offensive Freshman of the Year: Alton McCaskill, Houston
Defensive Freshman of the Year: Tyreek Chapman, Texas A&M 

  • Best quarterback: Frank Harris, UTSA
  • Best running back: Sincere McCormick, UTSA
  • Best receiver: Jacob Cowing, UTEP
  • Best offensive lineman: Kenyon Green, Texas A&M
  • Best defensive lineman: DeMarvin Leal, Texas A&M
  • Best linebacker: Terrel Bernard, Baylor
  • Best defensive back: Jalen Pitre, Baylor
  • Best special teams: Marcus Jones, Houston 


Position Name School Class Hometown
QB Tanner Mordecai SMU Junior Waco 
RB Sincere McCormick UTSA Junior Converse
RB Abram Smith Baylor Senior Abilene
WR Jacob Cowing UTEP Sophomore Maricopa, Ariz.
WR Xavier Worthy  Texas Freshman Fresno, Calif.
WR/TE Nathaniel Dell Houston Sophomore Daytona Beach, Fla.
OL Connor Galvin Baylor Senior Katy
OL Kenyon Green Texas A&M Junior Humble
OL Patrick Paul Houston  Freshman Houston
OL Derek Kerstetter Texas Senior San Antonio
OL Spencer Burford UTSA Senior San Antonio


DL DeMarvin Leal Texas A&M Junior Converse
DL Siaka Ika Baylor Sophomore Salt Lake City, Utah
DL Logan Hall Houston Junior Belton
EDGE Clarence Hicks UTSA Senior  Pensacola, Fla. 
LB Terrel Bernard Baylor Senior  La Porte
LB Aaron Hansford Texas A&M Senior  Washington, D.C. 
LB KD Davis North Texas Senior  Ennis
DB Antonio Johnson Texas A&M Sophomore East Saint Louis, Ill. 
DB Gervarrius Owens Houston Junior Moore, Okla.
DB Marcus Jones Houston Senior  Enterprise, Ala. 
DB Tre'Vius Hodges-Tomlinson TCU Junior Waco


Kicker Jonathan Garibay Texas Tech Senior Rubidoux, Calif.
Punter Austin McNamara Texas Tech Junior Gilbert, Ariz. 
Returner Marcus Jones  Houston Senior Enterprise, Ala.



Position Name School Class Hometown
QB Clayton Tune Houston Junior Carrollton
RB Bijan Robinson Texas Sophomore Tucson, Ariz. 
RB DeAndre Torrey North Texas Senior Gautier, Miss. 
WR Zakhari Franklin UTSA Junior Cedar Hill
WR Danny Gray SMU Senior Dallas
WR/TE Jalen Wydermyer Texas A&M Junior Dickinson 
OL Jacob Gall Baylor Senior Cincinnati, Ohio
OL Alan Ali SMU Senior Fort Worth
OL Dalton Cooper Texas State Freshman Prague, Okla. 
OL Kody Russey Houston Senior Burleson
OL Ahofitu Maka UTSA Senior Honolulu, Hawaii


DL David Anenih Houston Senior Arlington
DL Praise Amaewhule UTEP Sophomore Katy
DL Elijah Garcia Rice Senior San Antonio
EDGE Tyree Johnson Texas A&M Senior Washington, D.C.
LB Breon Hayward UTEP Junior Houston 
LB Edgerrin Cooper Texas A&M Freshman Covington, La. 
LB Dillon Doyle Baylor Junior Iowa City, Iowa
DB Leon O'Neal Texas A&M Senior Cypress
DB JT Woods Baylor Senior San Antonio
DB Rashad Wisdom UTSA Junior Converse 
DB Dennis Barnes UTEP Junior Jefferson City, Mo.


Kicker Hunter Duplessis UTSA Senior San Antonio
Punter Cameron Dicker Texas Senior Austin 
Returner Bryan Massey SMU Sophomore Katy
Coach  Dave Aranda Baylor    


This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!