NCAA Division III announces playoff bracket

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

For the first time since 2011, three teams from the state of Texas are in the NCAA Division III playoffs. Mary Hardin-Baylor, Trinity, and Hardin-Simmons found out where they slotted when the NCAA released the Division III playoff bracket on Sunday.

The reigning national champion, Mary Hardin-Baylor, earned the automatic bid from the American Southwest Conference and will host Huntingdon at noon on Saturday afternoon. The Cru finished the regular season with a 9-1 record, with their only loss on the road to Wisconsin-Whitewater.

The Trinity Tigers repeated as champions of the Southern Athletic Association and enter the playoffs on the heels of their second consecutive perfect regular season. Trinity will host Hardin-Simmons at noon on Saturday.

The Cowboys received an at-large bid to the playoffs following a 9-1 campaign and a second-place finish in the ASC. Hardin-Simmons fans were naturally hesitant to believe the Cowboys would receive an at-large spot after being left out of the playoffs last year. However, a 41-0 road win over Wisconsin-Platteville in Week 2 propelled the Cowboys into the playoffs.

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!