UIW, UMHB, and Angelo State dominate 2022 All-Texas Sub-FBS Team

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

Success can be measured in a variety of ways. If your definition of success is only measured by national titles, you will often be disappointed. That is unless you’re North Dakota State.

While no sub-FBS team from Texas will claim a national title this year for only the second time since 2016, having two teams (UIW and Mary Hardin-Baylor) make a national semifinal qualifies as a great season. Add in Angelo State’s run to the NCAA Division II quarterfinals for the second consecutive year, and it was a fantastic 2022 in Texas.

UIW, UMHB, and Angelo State are well-represented on this year’s All-Texas Sub-FBS Team for their outstanding success. The Cardinals and Crusaders lead all schools with six selections, while the Rams follow with five players on the team. Trinity advanced to the second round of the Division III playoffs and earned three selections, with Texas Southern being the only other program to place multiple members on the team.

In all, 18 of 35 teams are represented this year, including seven FCS schools, three Division II programs, four Division III teams, and two from teams in NAIA and NJCAA.

A new addition to the team this year is the Coach of the Year selection. It was impossible only to pick one with two coaches leading their programs to a national semifinal in their first season as head coaches at their respective schools. 

G.J. Kinne led UIW to new heights this year with a program-record 12 wins and the Cardinals first appearance in the FCS semifinals. Larry Harmon followed legendary coach Pete Fredenburg at UMHB and led the Crusaders to the national semifinals. Kinne and Harmon share the All-Sub FBS Team Coach of the Year honors.

Offensive Player of the Year had one of the greatest seasons of any quarterback at any level of college football. UIW quarterback Lindsey Scott Jr. completed an insane 70.93 percent pass attempts this year for 4,686 yards and 60 touchdowns. Possibly the most ridiculous stat from the likely Walter Payton Award winner is that he only threw an interception on 0.02 percent of his pass attempts (8 INTs in 454 attempts) this year. 

The Defensive Player of the Year is UMHB linebacker Durand Hill. Earlier this season, Crusaders coach Larry Harmon told me his sophomore standout could depart the program as the best linebacker to ever play for the Cru. Hill recorded 124 tackles, including 71 solo and 8.5 tackles for loss. The Austin native excels in pass coverage, with 13 passes defended this year and two interceptions.

2022 All-Texas Sub-FBS Superlatives

Co-Coach of the Year: G.J. Kinne, UIW and Larry Harmon, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Offensive Player of the Year: Lindsey Scott. Jr., UIW

Defensive Player of the Year: Durand Hill, Mary Hardin-Baylor


2022 All-Texas Sub-FBS Offense

QB: Kyle King, Mary Hardin-Baylor

RB: Nathaniel Omayebu III, Angelo State

RB: Keaton Dudik, SAGU

WR: Xavier Gipson, Stephen F. Austin

WR: Darion Chafin, UIW

WR: Taylor Grimes, UIW

WR: Trent Hudson, Trinity Valley

OL: Drake Centers, Texas Southern

OL: Jake Long, Angelo State

OL: Ethan Ruckman, Mary Hardin-Baylor

OL: Boomer Warren, Hardin-Simmons

OL: Wyatt Bush, Trinity


2022 All-Texas Sub-FBS Defense

DL: Chris Whitaker, UIW

DL: Weston Bauer, Angelo State

DL: Sante Parker Jr., Mary Hardin-Baylor

DL: Derrick Martin, Kilgore

LB: Kelechi Anyalebechi, UIW

LB: Rodney Dansby, Houston Christian

LB: Daron Allman, Angelo State

LB: Caleb Harmel, Trinity

DB: B.J. Foster, Sam Houston

DB: D’Ante Smith, Texas A&M-Commerce

DB: Isaiah Hamilton, Texas Southern

DB: Andrew Pitts, Angelo State


2022 All-Texas Sub-FBS Specialists

PK: Ritse Vaes, Midwestern State

P: Tyler James, Austin College

KR: M.J. Link, UTPB

KR: Jaysen Price, Texas Wesleyan

PR: K.J. Miller, Mary Hardin-Baylor

PR: B.J. Stewart, Trinity

LS: Brandon Oldham, Tarleton

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!