Texas QB Vince Young headlines 2019 College Football Hall of Fame class

File Photo

Vince Young’s run into the corner of the end zone at the Rose Bowl will live forever as the biggest play in Texas football history. Now, Young officially becomes college football royalty.

Young has officially been selected for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame by the National Football Foundation. The national champion will become the 21st Texas Longhorn in the Hall of Fame, and the first since Robert Charles McKay in 2017.

The Longhorns experienced one of the best seasons in program history during Young’s junior season. Young led Texas to its fourth national championship in 2005 and was a Heisman runner-up after posting an unprecedented season on the 40 Acres.

Young completed 65.2 percent of his passes for 3,036 yards, 26 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. He also added 1,050 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns while leading the Longhorns to an undefeated season and national title.

His best performance came in the 2006 national championship game. Going up against No. USC, the back-to-back national champions, Young posted 267 passing yards, 200 rushing yards and 200 touchdowns in a 41-38 victory. The last was an eight-yard touchdown run with 19 seconds left to win.

The Houston Madison product finished his career with 6,040 passing yards, 44 touchdowns, 28 interceptions, 3,127 rushing yards and 37 rushing scores. In addition to the national title, Young led the Longhorns to a Rose Bowl win after the 2004 season.

Young isn’t the only Texan headed to the hall. Texas A&M defensive lineman Jacob Green was also selected as the 20th Aggie in the College Football Hall of Fame.

Green was a two-time All-American in 1978 and 1979. As a senior, Green posted 134 tackles, 28 tackles for loss and 20 sacks for the Aggies. He ranks No. 2 in program history with 37 career sacks and has an Aggie record 12 forced fumbles.

Green was later selected No. 10 overall in the 1980 NFL Draft, and played 12 seasons with the Seattle Seahawks. He was named All-Pro three times and is a member of the Seahawks’ ring of honor.

The honorees will officially be inducted to the College Football Hall of Fame at the NFF Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2019. 

Full list of 2019 College Football Hall of Fame inductees –

  • Texas QB Vince Young

  • Texas A&M DL Jacob Green

  • Oklahoma DB Rickey Dixon

  • Michigan State RB Lorenzo White

  • Florida State DB Terrell Buckley

  • Arizona State QB Jake Plummer

  • John Carroll LB London Fletcher

  • North Carolina State WR Torry Holt

  • USC DB Troy Polamalu

  • Wisconsin OL Joe Thomas

  • Arkansas RB Darren McFadden

  • Head coach Dennis Erickson

  • Head coach Joe Taylor

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites