Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, along with Wells Fargo and in conjunction with the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on TexasFootball.com. At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists are named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2018 Mr. Texas Football Award presented by Wells Fargo will be announced prior to the 2018 Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl.

Former winners of the award include 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), Tampa Bay Buccaneers running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated) and Carolina Panthers quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Oklahoma State freshman QB Spencer Sanders took home the award in 2017.

The 2018 Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents.

For more information, visit www.academytexasbowl.com. For more on the Mr. Texas Football Player of the Week Award, visit the official page.

2018 Winner: Mission Veterans Memorial QB Landry Gilpin

Past winners of the award:

2017: QB Spencer Sanders, Denton Ryan
2016: QB Roshauud Paul, Bremond
2015: QB Jett Duffey, Mansfield Lake Ridge
2014: QB Kyler Murray, Allen
2013: QB Kyler Murray, Allen
2012: RB Dontre Wilson, DeSoto
2011: RB Johnathan Gray, Aledo
2010: QB Johnny Manziel, Kerrville Tivy
2009: QB Darian “Stump” Godfrey, Gilmer
2008: QB Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis
2007: RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Lamar Consolidated