BREAKING: Dave Campbell's Texas Football, TaxAct Texas Bowl name Mr. Texas Football Semifinalists

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

HOUSTON – Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, the leading publication for all things football in Texas, and the TaxAct Texas Bowl proudly announce the 25 semifinalists for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year Award.

Mr. Texas Football annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists will be named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2021 Mr. Texas Football Award will be announced prior to the TaxAct Texas Bowl, which will be played at NRG Stadium in Houston on January 4th, 2022 and will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents.

Former winners of the award include 2018 Heisman Trophy winner and No. 1 overall pick QB Kyler Murray (2013 and 2014 winner, Allen), 2012 Heisman Trophy winner QB Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns RB Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), former Tampa Bay Buccaneers RB Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated), current Oklahoma State QB Spencer Sanders (2017 winner, Denton Ryan) and former Dallas Cowboys QB Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Hallettsville and Texas Longhorns RB Jonathon Brooks took home the award in 2020.

For more information on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit or


2021 Mr. Texas Football Semifinalists

QB Collin Bishop, Childress

QB Major Bowden, China Spring

QB Bishop Davenport, Spring

RB Ernest Davila, Poteet

RB Seth Davis, Katy

WR Coy Eakin, Stephenville

ATH Major Everhart, Amarillo Tascosa

QB Kanon Gibson, Wink

WR Matthew Golden, Klein Cain

RB Ollie Gordon, Euless Trinity

DL AJ Holmes, Spring Westfield

QB Josh Hoover, Rockwall-Heath

QB Jett Huff, College Station

ATH Ashton Jeanty, Frisco Lone Star

QB Cade Klubnik, Austin Westlake

QB Braedyn Locke, Rockwall

QB Austin Novosad, Dripping Springs

RB Reuben Owens, El Campo

ATH Harold Perkins, Cy Park

RB Richard Reese, Bellville

RB Re'Shaun Sanford, Killeen Harker Heights

QB Brandon Tennison, Gilmer

QB Conner Weigman, Bridgeland

RB Xavier Wishert, Jim Ned

RB Makhilyn Young, Midland Legacy


About the TaxAct Texas Bowl

The TaxAct Texas Bowl is owned and operated by ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN, and managed locally by Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. The bowl has showcased teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, two of the country’s premier conferences, since 2014. The TaxAct Texas Bowl has been a tremendous success both on and off the field over its first 14 years as it is the fifth-most attended bowl game in the country since 2016. The bowl generates over $30 million annually for the Houston economy and has donated nearly $2 million in financial support and millions more in promotional support to DePelchin Children’s Center, the bowl’s official charitable beneficiary.


About Dave Campbell’s Texas Football

For more than 60 years, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has been “the bible” to millions of football fans across the Lone Star State. The annual summer edition of the magazine remains a rite of passage for all Texans, previewing every football team in the state — from the rabid world of Texas high school football, through the college ranks, and into the Dallas Cowboys and the Houston Texans. Over the course of six decades, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football remains the undisputed leader in Texas high school football, Texas college football and more. is the online home of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, covering high school football, college football and recruiting all across the Lone Star State. From thought-provoking commentary to videos to podcasts to its daily live show, nobody covers football in Texas like


This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!