North Mesquite Wins Second-Annual 7-on-7 Title Game

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - For the second consecutive year, the North Texas area showed its explosive power in 7-on-7 competition. North Mesquite defeated Lake Worth 31-27 in the second-annual Fox Sports Net Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship July 17 at Kyle Field in College Station. Last year's finals at Kyle Field also involved two North Texas powers: Grapevine and Southlake Carroll. 

Notably, North Mesquite was among the first schools statewide to qualify for this weekend's state championship, winning Grapevine's 7-on-7 regional qualifier in April. The Stallions knocked off Katy in the semifinals, 38-13. Lake Worth defeated Corsicana 20-13 to advance to the championship game of the 48-team event. 

Each of the four semifinalists received an autographed copy of Texas Football magazine, by founder Dave Campbell. Souvenir footballs were also presented to the state champion (North Mesquite) and the state finalist (Lake Worth). 

The thriller of the quarterfinals was North Mesquite defeating Klein Forest, 33-31, in triple overtime. Elsewhere, Katy blasted San Angelo Central 33-13, Lake Worth beat Celina 33-27, and Corsicana held off Bryan, 14-13. 

Klein Forest advanced to the final eight in late morning with a 21-13 victory over Cypress Falls, while North Mesquite won a defensive struggle, 15-13 over Grapevine. San Angelo Central beat Colleyville Heritage 20-14, Katy breezed past Breckenridge 41-22, Corsicana defeated Bartlett 21-14, Lake Worth held off The Woodlands 27-20, and Bryan posted the only shutout of the event, 26-0 over Bastrop. 

The field of 48, which began play on Friday afternoon on Texas A&M's campus, was narrowed to 32 teams this morning. The top two teams in each of the 12, four-team pools advanced to single-elimination play. Eight at-large teams also advanced, based on points scored. 

1999 Results

* First Round * 
Klein Forest 26, Lindale 19
Lake Worth 34, Southlake Carroll 21
Katy 37, Lake Dallas 26
Bartlett 18, Connally 12
Grapevine 33, Cypress Creek 18
Abilene 26, Willis 13
Colleyville Heritage 30, Copperas Cove 28
Bastrop 27, Lone Oak 13
Bryan 24, Plano East 22
San Angelo Central 32, Georgetown 13
Celina 13, Midway 7
North Mesquite 34, Madisonville 12
Corsicana 32, Port Neches-Groves 21
Breckenridge 27, Sam Houston 18
The Woodlands 21, Friendswood 19
Cy-Falls 33, Marcus 18 

* Second Round * 
Klein Forest 21, Cypress Falls 13
North Mesquite 15, Grapevine 13
San Angelo Central 20, Colleyville Heritage 14
Katy 41, Breckenridge 22
Corsicana 21, Bartlett 14
Lake Worth 27, The Woodlands 20
Bryan 26, Bastrop 0

* Quarterfinals* 
North Mesquite 33, Klein Forest 31 (3 OT)
Lake Worth 33, Celina 27
Katy 33, San Angelo Central 13
Corsicana 14, Bryan 13 

* Semifinals * 
North Mesquite 38, Katy 13 
Lake Worth 20, Corsicana 13 

* Championship * 
North Mesquite 31, Lake Worth 27

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 61 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!