REVEALED: The 2023 All-Texas Non-FBS Team

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

Selecting the members of the All-Texas Non-FBS team is always a challenge. Since the first Non-FBS team was released following the 2018 season, the goal was to highlight the best players in Texas across all three NCAA divisions, NAIA and NJCAA.

The team was expanded in 2021 to include a coach, offensive player, and defensive player of the year. Still, players deserving of recognition are left off this team each year. So, the team has been expanded once more to include a player of the year and the best player at each position. A player may be selected only once to allow the maximum number of players to receive recognition.

With that in mind, 40 players from 24 different schools are on this year’s team, including at least one player from each level. However, the expanded number of members didn’t make this team easier to select. For example, at least eight coaches deserved to be named Coach of the Year. Yet, there can only be one.

So, without further ado, here is the 2023 All-Texas Non-FBS team.

Player of the Year: Trinity QB Tucker Horn

Offensive Player of the Year: UTPB QB Kenny Hrncir

Defensive Player of the Year: Trinity LB Caleb Harmel

Coach of the Year: Kris McCullough, UTPB


Quarterback of the Year: Landon McKinney, Howard Payne

Running Back of the Year: LaDarius Owens, Texas Southern

Wide Receiver of the Year: Brandon Porter, UIW

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Miguel Valdez, Hardin-Simmons

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Steven Parker, UIW

Linebacker of the Year: Jacob Williams, Texas Southern

Defensive Back of the Year: Patrick Jolly, Abilene Christian

Specialist of the Year: Damashja Harris, Lamar

2023 All-Texas Non-FBS Offense

Pos.  Player  School
 QB  Zach Calzada  UIW
 RB  Kayvon Britten  Tarleton
 RB  Devin Cross  Midwestern State
 WR  Kristopher Martin  McMurry
 WR  Ryan Merrifield  Trinity
 WR  Trea Taylor  Tyler JC
 OL  Eric Dunn  Prairie View A&M
 OL  Ethan Ruckman  Mary Hardin-Baylor
 OL  Bryce Hernandez  Hardin-Simmons
 OL  Peter Svboda  Texas Wesleyan
 OL  Caleb Leonard  Kilgore

2023 All-Texas Non-FBS Defense

Pos.  Player  School
 DL  Levi Drake Rodriguez  Texas A&M-Commerce
 DL  Josh Griffis  Tarleton
 DL  Jahkamian Carr  East Texas Baptist
 DL  Myles Terry  Mary Hardin-Baylor
 LB  Jalyx Hunt  Houston Christian
 LB  Cirby Coheley  Abilene Christian
 LB  Hayden Kelly  UTPB
 LB  Durand Hill  Mary Hardin-Baylor
 DB  Amos Coleman  Texas A&M-Kingsville
 DB  KJ Kelley  Howard Payne
 DB  Corey McCoy  Wayland Baptist
 DB  Isaiah Crosby  Trinity Valley CC

2023 All-Texas Non-FBS Specialists

Pos.  Player  School
 PK  Kyle Ramsey  Abilene Christian
 P  Max Quick  Stephen F. Austin
 KR  Deangelo Rosemond  Tarleton
 PR  Andrew Pitts  Angelo State
 LS  Chase Ruiz  Stephen F. Austin

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!