Former Texas A&M coach R.C. Slocum named to College Football Playoff committee

By Will Leverett

Former Texas A&M coach R.C. Slocum was named one of three new additions to the College Football Playoff committee on Wednesday.

Slocum joins Arkansas State athletic director Terry Mohajir and four-star general Ray Odierno as new additions to the staff. The trio replaces former Southern Miss coach Jeff Bower, former Central Michigan coach Herb Deromedi and former Vanderbilt coach Bobby Johnson.

Slocum ranks as the winningest coach in Texas A&M history. After taking over the program in 1989, Slocum led the Aggies to three Southwest Conference championships and a Big 12 title. Texas A&M mustered a 123-47-2 record during his tenure, and never finished with a losing record.

He joined the Aggies in 1972 as a defensive assistant. After that, Slocum served in some capacity with the school until 2002, other than a one-year stint as USC’s defensive coordinator in 1981.

Slocum was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2012. Additionally, Slocum is a member of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans and is a former board member of the American Football Coaches Association.

The committee is responsible for selecting four teams for the College Football Playoff. Selectors are generally picked to represent a region or a conference. Slocum likely checks boxes for the Southwest, the Big 12 (where he coached) and the SEC (where Texas A&M is now).

There are few living names more intertwined with Texas college football than Slocum. He was a mainstay in the sport for decades. The only living FBS coaches with more wins at their respective school than Slocum are Mack Brown, Grant Teaff and Gary Patterson.

Slocum becomes just the second sitting  member of the College Football Playoff committee who coached in the state of Texas. Former Rice coach Ken Hatfield also sits on the committee. Oklahoma athletic director Joe Castiglione is the only member with direct ties to a Big 12 school. Florida athletic director Scott Stricklin is also a representative from the SEC. Hatfield also coached at Arkansas.

College Football Playoff committee – 

  • Oregon AD Rob Mullens (chair)

  • Former Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer

  • Arizona State professor Paola Boivin

  • Oklahoma AD Joe Castiglione

  • Former Rice, Clemson, Arkansas coach Ken Hatfield

  • Robert Morris president Chris Howard

  • Former USC DB Ronnie Lott

  • Ohio State AD Gene Smith

  • Georgia Tech AD Todd Stansbury

  • Florida AD Scott Stricklin

  • Former Texas A&M coach R.C. Slocum*

  • Four-star general Ray Odierno*

  • Arkansas State AD Terry Mohajir*

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites