Texas High School Football Hall of Fame Inductees: G.A. Moore, Jr.

G.A. Moore, Jr.

Celina High School


Inducted in 2012

Texas’ winning high school coach (423-97-9) was a head coach for 45 seasons, split almost evenly between bitter 2A rivals Pilot Point (3 terms, 20 years) and Celina (2 terms, 19 years) with whistle stops at Bryson, Sherman and Aubrey. He won two state championships at Pilot Point (where he was all-state in football and basketball), and six at Celina, including four straight from 1998-2001 -- a sore point at his alma mater. In his first stint at Celina, Moore’s teams posted a 52-5-2 mark and captured his first title, a co-championship with Big Sandy in 1974. Three years later, he returned to a Pilot Point program coming off a 1-9 season and lost only nine games in the next nine years, going 106-9-3 and winning back-to-back titles in 1980-81. But after a brief detour to Sherman, Moore returned in 1988 to Celina, which hadn’t won a district crown in a decade. He averaged almost 12 wins a year for the next 14 seasons (163-22) and added five more championship trophies (1995-98-99-2000-01). When he left Celina to return to Pilot Point in 2002, the Bobcats were riding a 57-game win streak. After three more seasons at Pilot Point, during which he passed Gordon Wood as Texas’ winningest coach and reached 400 victories, Moore retired to his ranch, only to return in 2009 to lead Aubrey to a school-record 11 wins. The Chaparrals’ only two losses that year were to eventual undefeated state champion Pilot Point in the regular-season finale and then-unbeaten McGregor in the region semifinals.