RANKING the STUNNERS: 46 Biggest TXHSFB Playoff Upsets the Last 20 Years

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

The Texas high school football playoffs hit full gear this weekend in the area round, with 176 games scattered across the state. It's one of the great spectacles in sports for one simple reason: anything can happen.

The first round of this year's playoffs were no dfiferent, with a handful of certified stunners shaking up the bracket. But it got us thinking: what are the biggest upsets in Texas high school football playoff history?

With the help of our data partner Jerry Forrest, we've dug through the last two decades of playoff results to find the 46 biggest upsets in Texas high school football playoff history since 2003 (which is as far back as our data goes). This is based on our Texas high school football computer projections, which predict every game each week.

So, who stunned the state the most? Let's take a look.

Year Round Game Upset
2017 Bi-District Whitharral 70, Motley County 38 Whitharral was a 49-point underdog
2021 Bi-District Stanton 39, Childress 34 Stanton was a 47-point underdog
2023 Bi-District Bronte 36, Rising Star 20 Bronte was a 39-point underdog
2018 Bi-District Richardson Pearce 23, Cedar Hill 21 Richardson Pearce was a 36-point underdog
2012 Bi-District Taylor 17, Waco La Vega 14 Taylor was a 36-point underdog
2004 Bi-District Huffman Hargrave 30, West Orange-Stark 28 Huffman Hargrave was a 32-point underdog
2017 Bi-District Vernon 42, Glen Rose 28 Vernon was a 31-point underdog
2007 Bi-District Hamilton 43, Mart 21 Hamilton was a 31-point underdog
2008 Bi-District Mansfield 20, Abilene 14 Mansfield was a 29-point underdog
2023 Bi-District Chester 36, Medina 20 Chester was a 28-point underdog
2004 Bi-District Prosper 24, Italy 14 Prosper was a 28-point underdog
2004 Area Chillicothe 40, Wheeler 32 Chillicothe was a 28-point underdog
2014 Area Quanah 42, Booker 12 Quanah was a 27-point underdog
2014 Bi-District Loraine 70, Blanket 36 Loraine was a 27-point underdog
2005 Bi-District South Garland 14, Longview 13 South Garland was a 26-point underdog
2004 Bi-District Mansfield Summit 29, Midland Lee 28 Mansfield Summit was a 26-point underdog
2017 Bi-District Dallas Kimball 35, Dallas Wilson 14 Dallas Kimball was a 25-point underdog
2012 Regional Semifinal Cy Woods 28, Dallas Skyline 21 Cy Woods was a 25-point underdog
2008 Bi-District DeKalb 31, Melissa 21 DeKalb was a 25-point underdog
2021 Bi-District Barbers Hill 42, Fort Bend Marshall 21 Barbers Hill was a 24-point underdog
2015 Bi-District Rice Consolidated 52, Comfort 35 Rice Consolidated was a 24-point underdog
2015 Bi-District White Oak 24, Pottsboro 9 White Oak was a 23-point underdog
2014 Area Normangee 40, Lindsay 21 Normangee was a 23-point underdog
2009 Bi-District Collinsville 56, Quinlan Boles 21 Collinsville was a 23-point underdog
2017 Bi-District Rockwall 23, The Woodlands 7 Rockwall was a 22-point underdog
2016 Bi-District Chillicothe 34, Aspermont 14 Chillicothe was a 22-point underdog
2014 Bi-District Del Rio 35, McAllen Memorial 20 Del Rio was a 22-point underdog
2009 Bi-District Brookshire Royal 40, Giddings 21 Brookshire Royal was a 22-point underdog
2007 Bi-District Ennis 37, Waco 34 Ennis was a 22-point underdog
2007 Bi-District Paris Chisum 36, Quitman 21 Paris Chisum was a 22-point underdog
2006 Bi-District Liberty-Eylau 39, Gilmer 36 Liberty-Eylau was a 22-point underdog
2004 Bi-District Dallas Wilson 44, Hebron 15 Dallas Wilson was a 22-point underdog
2017 Regional Final Boling 28, East Bernard 6 Boling was a 21-point underdog
2016 Bi-District Hondo 56, Devine 28 Hondo was a 21-point underdog
2015 Regional Semifinal Krum 31, Sweetwater 0 Krum was a 21-point underdog
2014 Bi-District Klein Oak 38, The Woodlands 20 Klein Oak was a 21-point underdog
2006 Area Round Rock 38, Lufkin 25 Round Rock was a 21-point underdog
2003 Regional Semifinal Highland Park 38, Ennis 28 Highland Park was a 21-point underdog
2017 Bi-District Wheeler 39, Memphis 14 Wheeler was a 20-point underdog
2015 Area Beckville 49, Alto 20 Beckville was a 20-point underdog
2008 Bi-District Hallettsville 9, Rogers 0 Hallettsville was a 20-point underdog
2007 Area Windthorst 14, Gorman 0 Windthorst was a 20-point underdog
2007 Bi-District Flatonia 21, La Villa 20 Flatonia was a 20-point underdog
2004 Area Wolfforth Frenship 20, El Paso Andress 6 Wolfforth Frenship was a 20-point underdog
2004 Regional Semifinal Abilene Wylie 14, Decatur 13 Abilene Wylie was a 20-point underdog
2003 Bi-District Eagle Pass 16, Corpus Christi Carroll 14 Eagle Pass was a 20-point underdog

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In