REVEALED: 2022 Mr. Texas Football Watch List

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites


September 21, 2022

HOUSTON – Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, the leading publication for all things football in Texas, and the TaxAct Texas Bowl proudly announce the 100-player watch list for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year Award. The voters, when appropriate, will add players to the watch list.

Mr. Texas Football annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists will be named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2022 Mr. Texas Football Award will be announced prior to the TaxAct Texas Bowl, which will be played at NRG Stadium in Houston on December 28, 2022.

Current players on this year’s watch list include:

Denton Guyer QB Jackson Arnold

Shiner RB Dalton Brooks

Austin Westlake WR Jaden Greathouse

Katy Paetow DE DJ Hicks

El Campo RB Rueben Owens

Longview Lobos WR Jalen Hale

Denton Ryan LB Anthony Hill

Desoto WR Johntay Cook

Arlington Martin DB Javien Toviano

Langham Creek WR Jaquaize Pettaway

Austin Westlake DL Colton Vasek


Former winners of the award include 2018 Heisman Trophy winner and No. 1 overall pick QB Kyler Murray (2013 and 2014 winner, Allen), 2012 Heisman Trophy winner QB Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns RB Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), former Tampa Bay Buccaneers RB Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated), current Oklahoma State QB Spencer Sanders (2017 winner, Denton Ryan) and former Dallas Cowboys QB Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Former China Spring Quarterback and current Lamar University RB Major Bowden took home the award in 2021.

The TaxAct Texas Bowl will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents, taking place at NRG Stadium in Houston on December 28, 2022.

For more information on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit or


About the TaxAct Texas Bowl:

The TaxAct Texas Bowl is owned and operated by ESPN Events and managed locally by Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. The Bowl annually showcases teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, two of the country’s premier athletic conferences. Through the years, the TaxAct Texas Bowl has been a tremendous success both on and off the field. Since 2014 the game is the most attended Bowl in the country outside of the “New Year’s 6” games.  The bowl has also generated an average of $40 million annually for the Houston economy and has contributed over $2.1 million in financial support to DePelchin Children’s Center, The Bowl’s official charitable beneficiary and one of the oldest children’s organizations in the city.


About Dave Campbell’s Texas Football:

For more than 62 years, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has been “the bible” to millions of football fans across the Lone Star State. The annual summer edition of the magazine remains a rite of passage for all Texans, previewing every football team in the state — from the rabid world of Texas high school football, through the college ranks, and into the Dallas Cowboys and the Houston Texans. Over the course of six decades, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football remains the undisputed leader in Texas high school football, Texas college football and more. is the online home of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, covering high school football, college football and recruiting all across the Lone Star State. From thought-provoking commentary to videos to podcasts to its daily live show, nobody covers football in Texas like


Full 2022 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year

Top 100 Watch List

QB JJ Acosta, Taft

WR Lonnie Adkism, Corpus Christi Miller

RB Sedrick Alexander, Austin LBJ

RB Owen Allen, Southlake Carroll

ATH Jaden Allen, Aledo

QB Jackson Arnold, Denton Guyer

QB Braden Bennett, Mount Vernon

DB Peyton Bowen, Denton Guyer

DL Johnny Bowens, Converse Judson

RB Dalton Brooks, Shiner

RB Coco Brown, Denton

QB Evan Bullock, Anna

ATH Terry Bussey, Timpson

WR Ivan Carreon, Odessa Permian

QB Jett Carroll, Lubbock Coronado

RB Braylon Colgrove, Aubrey

WR Johntay Cook, DeSoto

RB Cameron Cook, Round Rock

QB Clifton Cooper, Ponder

WR Ashton Cozart, Flower Mound Marcus

DL Isaiah Crawford, Post

RB Seth Davis, Katy

ATH Cedric Ware, Westbrook

OL Markis Deal, Garland Naaman Forest

RB Colton Deckard, Muenster

LB Luis DeHoyos, Mission Veterans Memorial

QB Bo Edmundson, Lake Travis

WR Kason English, Grandview

DL Enow Etta, Colleyville Covenant

QB Blake Flowers, Seminole

ATH Rohan Fluellen, Gilmer

RB Jose Garcia, Mineral Wells

WR CJ Gilbert, Daingerfield

WR Jaden Greathouse, Austin Westlake

WR Jalen Hale, Longview

ATH Mikal Harrison-Pilot, Temple

WR Montrel Hatten, Carthage

QB Mike Hawkins, Allen

ATH Ashton Haynes, Gilmer

RB Kalib Hicks, Denton Ryan

DL DJ Hicks, Katy Paetow

LB Anthony Hill, Denton Ryan

RB Epi Hinojosa, Corpus Christi Calallen

WR Micah Hudson, Lake Belton

RB Elijah Huff, Corpus Christi West Oso

WR Braylon James, Round Rock Stony Point

QB Logan Jenkins, Collinsville

RB Parker Jenkins, Klein Forest

WR Wyatt Jones, Tolar

RB Quinten Joyner, Manor

QB DJ Lagway, Willis

QB Ryder Lambert, Stephenville

WR Jaxson Lavender, Lovejoy

QB EJ Lopez, Andrews

RB LJ Martin, Canutillo

RB Tate Maruska, Stephenville

QB Cash McCollum, China Spring

QB Mason McComis, Bridgeport

ATH Reid Mikeska, Bridgeland

WR Dre'lon Miller, Silsbee

RB Murry Moore, Fort Worth Dunbar

DB Malik Muhammad, South Oak Cliff

ATH Ryan Niblett, Aldine Eisenhower

QB Austin Novosad, Dripping Springs

ATH Samuel Omosigho, Crandall

RB Rueben Owens, El Campo

RB Dawson Pendergrass, Mineola

RB A'marion Peterson, Wichita Falls Hirschi

WR Jaquaize Pettaway, Langham Creek

ATH Jaden Platt, Haslet Eaton

WR Jadon Porter, Lorena

WR D'Andre Ralston, Abilene Cooper

OL Ian Reed, Austin Vandegrift

RB Kedricc Reescano, New Caney

DE Jordan Renaud, Tyler Legacy

OL Isaiah Robinson, Arlington Lamar

ATH Bravion Rogers, La Grange

LB Will Scott, Hawley

ATH Joaquin Segovia, Vega

OL Harris Sewell, Odessa Permian

OL TJ Shanahan, Austin Westlake

QB Mason Shorb, Leander Rouse

DE Colin Simmons, Duncanville

ATH Ethan Sloan, Gunter

RB Sergio Snider, Arlington Martin

QB Jake Strong, Justin Northwest

QB Chris Teten, Dublin

ATH Javien Toviano, Arlington Martin

WR Keby Valsin, Arlington Bowie

DL Riley Van Poppel, Argyle

DL Colton Vasek, Austin Westlake

RB Bryson Washington, Franklin

RB Tycen Williams, Cuero

RB J'Koby Williams, Beckville

ATH Anquan Willis, Tre Wisner

WR Jonah Wilson, Spring Dekaney

RB Tre Wisner, DeSoto

QB Desmond Woodson, Marlin

ATH Braylen Wortham, Bremond

LB Taurean York, Temple


This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!