Lake Travis wins Division I FOX Sports Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

COLLEGE STATION - Michael Brewer threw a 45-yard touchdown pass on the first play to spark the Lake Travis Cavaliers to a 42-39 win over DeSoto, which gave the Cavaliers the Division I Fox Sports Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship. 

Brewer connected with Conner Floyd on the game's first play at Kyle Field. It was the first of four touchdown catches by Floyd, who was named Most Valuable Player. Floyd's final touchdown and two-point conversion pass to Griffin Gilbert gave the Cavaliers a 42-33 lead. 

Zachary Streuling had a tipped interception to help Lake Travis build its second-half advantage. 

Lake Travis never trailed, but the DeSoto Eagles tied the game at 21-21 on the opening possession of the second half. Ryan Polite passed to Demarcus Thompson, who had three second-half touchdown catches. 

In the consolation final, Deauntre Smiley threw four touchdown passes to Chris Bean to lead Lufkin Panthers to a 50-39 win over The Woodlands. 

Taylor Bickford had three touchdown receptions from Joseph Schneider in the loss.

Championship Bracket 

1st Round: 
West Mesquite 41, Irving Nimitz 13
Coppell 32, Abilene 27
DeSoto 34, Houston Lamar 32
Pearland 32, Wylie 31
Cypress Creek 34, Lewisville Hebron 30
Arlington Lamar 26, Copperas Cove 19
Pearland Dawson 39, Whitehouse 14
Manvel 35, Mesquite 30
Little Cypress-Mauriceville 40, Klein 27
Lake Travis 56, Saginaw Boswell 25
Plano 39, Belton 22
Beaumont West Brook 35, Plano West 28
San Antonio MacArthur 44, Georgetown 19
Cypress Falls 48, Tyler John Tyler 26
Pflugerville 35, Rockwall 28 (OT)
Friendswood 42, Arlington Bowie 21 

2nd Round
Coppell 35, West Mesquite 20
DeSoto 34, Pearland 26
Arlington Lamar 27, Cy-Creek 18
Pearland Dawson 39, Manvel 16
Lake Travis 46, Little Cypress-Mauriceville 45 (OT)
Beaumont West Brook 52, Plano 33
San Antonio MacArthur 40, Cy-Falls 34 (OT)
Pflugerville 38, Friendswood 34 

DeSoto 46, Coppell 31
Pearland Dawson 31, Arlington Lamar 27
Lake Travis 42, Beaumont West Brook 14
San Antonio MacArthur 39, Pflugerville 19 

DeSoto 50, Pearland Dawson 28
Lake Travis 45, San Antonio MacArthur 32 

Lake Travis 42, DeSoto 39

Consolation Bracket 

1st Round
Southlake Carroll 35,El Paso Franklin 13
Round Rock McNeil 32, Cypress Woods 26
Lufkin 34, Odessa Permian 25
Grand Prairie 27, Houston Worthing 25
Cypress-Fairbanks - bye
Richland 25, San Antonio Madison 20
Stephenville 34, El Paso Chapin 30
Fort Bend Bush 28, San Antonio Warren 20
Spring Dekaney 19, Alamo Heights 14
Katy Cinco Ranch 40, Mansfield Legacy 24
Round Rock Stony Point 38, PSJA Memorial 0
Edinburg 27, Klein Collins 20
El Paso Coronado 34, Tyler Lee 28
The Woodlands 39, El Paso Montwood 19
Houston Stratford 19, Lewisville 7
Gregory-Portland 35, Houston Chavez 24 

2nd Round
Round Rock McNeil 21, Southlake Carroll 20
Lufkin 39, Grand Prairie 22
Richland 38, Cy-Fair 32 (2OT)
Stephenville 26, Fort Bend Bush 14
Cinco Ranch 34, Dekaney 25
Edinburg 35, Stony Point 25
The Woodlands 26, El Paso Coronado 20
Gregory-Portland 27, Houston Stratford 26 

Lufkin 27, Round Rock McNeil 21
Richland 25, Stephenville 12
Cinco Ranch 32, Edinburg 20
The Woodlands 41, Gregory-Portland 26 

Lufkin 38, Richland 14
The Woodlands 40, Cinco Ranch 34 

Lufkin 50, The Woodlands 39

FOX Sports Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship All-Tournament Team 
MVP: Conner Floyd, Lake Travis 
Trevone Boykin, West Mesquite 
Nico Ornelas, Richland 
Jace Amaro, San Antonio Mac Arthur 
Reggie Begelton, Beaumont West Brook 
Deauntre Smiley, Lufkin 
Tracy Smith, Arlington Lamar 
Daniel Lasco, The Woodlands 
Marcus Vaughn, Pearland Dawson 
Joe Minden, Coppell 
Michael Brewer, Lake Travis 
David Porter, DeSoto 
Ryan Polite, DeSoto

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!