DeSoto Wins Division I FOX Sports Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

COLLEGE STATION - Raheem Wilson threw two touchdown passes to Ricky Daniels as the DeSoto Eagles defeated Houston Lamar, 34-25, for the FOX Sports Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship. 

Daniels, who was named Most Valuable Player for Division I, took a short pass and made two sharp cuts near the right sideline, escaping defenders on a touchdown that gave the Eagles a 34-19 lead. 

DeSoto lost to Lake Travis in the 2010 7-on-7 state championship game, but neither Wilson nor Daniels were members of that team. 

The game was a rematch of Friday's pool play game, which DeSoto won, 38-19. 

Lamar cut the lead to 20-19 on the first drive of the second half when freshman quarterback Darrell Colbert, Jr., passed to Carrington Thompson for a score. 

In the consolation final, Derrick Griffin's leaping touchdown over two defenders was his third of the first half and his Rosenberg Terry Rangers defeated Abilene Cooper, 46-26. Terry junior quarterback Antoine Arboleda directed the Rangers to touchdowns on their first seven offensive possessions.

Championship Bracket 

1st Round
Mesquite 40, Channelview 34
Houston Lamar 41, The Woodlands 20
Lewisville Hebron 33, Pasadena Dobie 24
Arlington Bowie 45, Katy 13
El Paso Riverside 32, La Marque 27
Cy-Falls 40, Jersey Village 18
A&M Consolidated 41, North Crowley 33
Beaumont West Brook 41, Lake Dallas 40
San Antonio Johnson 39, Keller Central 35
DeSoto 51, Leander Vista Ridge 18
Lake Travis 34, Belton 6
Round Rock Westwood 40, Tyler John Tyler 30
Klein Forest 24, Plano 20
Willis 48, Arlington 32
Houston Stratford 26, Cy-Fair 12
Duncanville 33, Klein Collins 26. 

2nd Round
Houston Lamar 27, Arlington Bowie 21
El Paso Riverside 41, Cy-Falls 34
A&M Consolidated 32, Beaumont West Brook 22
DeSoto 26, San Antonio Johnson 24
Westwood 27, Lake Travis 26
Willis 38, Klein Forest 19
Duncanville 27, Houston Stratford 20. 

Houston Lamar 27, Arlington Bowie 21
A&M Consolidated 47, El Paso Riverside 41 (3 OT)
DeSoto 39, Westwood 33
Duncanville 34, Willis 20. 

Houston Lamar 53, A&M Consolidated 12
DeSoto 39, Duncanville 34. 

DeSoto 34, Houston Lamar 25.

Consolation Bracket 

1st Round
Austin Bowie 28, El Paso Coronado 13
Abilene Cooper 46, Buda Hays 39
Coppell 19, Fort Bend Elkins 12
Pearland 28, Plano West 12
Langham Creek 45, Abilene 20
Fort Worth Paschal 40, Rockwall Heath 6
El Paso Franklin 41, Houston Chavez 14
Edinburg 26, Alamo Heights 15
Tyler Lee 27, Friendswood 18
Montgomery 31, Midlothian 27
Katy Cinco Ranch 33, Woolforth Frenship 18
Arlington Lamar 38, Carrollton Creekview 27
Rockwall 28, Klein Oak 12
Weslaco 26, Round Rock McNeil 21
Wichita Falls 72, Dallas Jesuit 66 (4OT)
Rosenberg Terry 52, Tomball 46. 

2nd Round
Abilene Cooper 33, Austin Bowie 26
Coppell 39, Pearland 19
Langham Creek 49, Paschal 19
El Paso Franklin 32, Edinburg 22
Tyler Lee 45, Montgomery 40
Arlington Lamar 19, Cinco Ranch 13
Weslaco 26, Rockwall 13
Rosenberg Terry 33, Wichita Falls 20. 

Abilene Cooper 38, Coppell 33
Langham Creek 47, El Paso Franklin 34
Tyler Lee 32, Houston Lamar 21
Rosenberg Terry 32, Weslaco 21. 

Abilene Cooper 47, Langham Creek 40
Rosenberg Terry 34, Tyler Lee 13. 

Consolation Final
Rosenberg Terry 46, Abilene Cooper 26

FOX Sports Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship All-Tournament Team
MVP: Ricky Daniels, DeSoto 
Quinton White, A&M Consolidated 
Desmond Wyatt, Round Rock Westwood 
Clayton Nicholas, Abilene Cooper 
Jeff Thomas, Duncanville 
Daniel Lopez, Houston Lamar 
Dontrey Wilson, DeSoto 
Derrick Griffin, Rosenberg Terry 
Kolby Listenbee, Arlington Bowie 
Kevan Hall, Houston Lamar

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!