REVEALED: 2023 DCTF All-Texas College Football Teams led by Longhorns, Mustangs

Edit by DCTF

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

Dave Campbell’s Texas Football 2023 postseason All-Texas College teams include at least one player from each of the 13 FBS programs in the Lone Star State. The list is headlined by Offensive Player of the Year Tahj Brooks from Texas Tech and Defensive Player of the Year T’Vondre Sweat. It was the second year in a row for a Longhorn to claim the DPOY award following Jaylan Ford’s selection last season. UTSA wide receiver Devin McCuin won Offensive Freshman of the Year honors, while Texas A&M linebacker Taurean York edged out Texas’ Anthony Hill for Defensive Freshman of the Year. 

The teams are split into first and second teams with 12 position players plus a specialist (kicker on offense, punter on defense). Texas led the way with 10 selections following an 11-1 regular season and a berth into the Big 12 championship game. SMU was second with nine players named to the list following the Mustangs’ second 10-win season in nearly 40 years. Texas State was third on the list with six selections. UTSA and UTEP had five. Steve Sarkisian and Rhett Lashlee split the Coach of the Year award. 

Four players were awarded superlatives for player of the year awards. 


Offensive Player of the Year: Texas Tech RB Tahj Brooks 
Defensive Player of the Year: Texas DL T’Vondre Sweat
Coach of the Year: Steve Sarkisian and Rhett Lashlee 
Offensive Freshman of the Year: UTSA WR Devin McCuin
Defensive Freshman of the Year: Texas A&M LB Taurean York 


Additionally, eight players were awarded “best of” for their respective positions. 

Best Quarterback: Frank Harris, UTSA 
Best Running Back: Tahj Brooks, Texas Tech 
Best Wide Receiver: Xavier Worthy, Texas 
Best Offensive Lineman: Patrick Paul, Houston 
Best Defensive Lineman: T’Vondre Sweat, Texas 
Best Linebacker: Edgerrin Cooper, Texas A&M  
Best Defensive Back: Isaiah Nwokobia, SMU 
Best Special Teams Player: Austin McNamara, Texas Tech 


Pos. Player School
QB  Frank Harris UTSA  
RB  Tahj Brooks Texas Tech 
RB Jonathon Brooks Texas
WR Joshua Cephus UTSA
WR Xavier Worthy Texas 
WR Luke McCaffrey Rice 
TE Jared Wiley TCU   
OT Patrick Paul Houston 
OT Kelvin Banks Texas  
OG Justin Osborne SMU 
OG Elijah Klein UTEP 
C Ethan Miner North Texas  
K Bert Auburn Texas 


Pos. Player School
DE Ben Bell Texas State 
DT T’Vondre Sweat Texas 
DT Byron Murphy  Texas
EDGE Trey Moore  UTSA 
LB Edgerrin Cooper  Texas A&M 
LB Tyrice Knight  UTEP 
LB Ahmad Walker SMU 
CB Josh Newton TCU 
CB Caden Jenkins  Baylor 
Nickel Jahdae Barron  Texas  
S Dadrion Taylor-Demerson Texas Tech
S Isaiah Nwokobia  SMU  
P Austin McNamara  Texas Tech 


Pos. Player School
QB Chandler Rogers  North Texas
RB Emani Bailey  TCU 
RB Ismail Mahdi  Texas State 
WR Adonai Mitchell  Texas 
WR Joey Hobert  Texas State 
WR Ja’Mori Maclin  North Texas 
TE RJ Maryland  SMU  
OT Christian Jones  Texas 
OT Marcus Bryant  SMU  
OG Logan Parr SMU 
OG Justin Mayers UTEP 
Branson Hickman SMU 
K Mason Shipley Texas State 


Pos. Player School
DE Shemar Turner Texas A&M 
DT  Keenan Stewart UTEP 
DT  Jamaree Caldwell Houston  
Edge Elijah Roberts SMU 
LB Trevor Williams Sam Houston 
LB Jaylan Ford Texas 
LB Brian Holloway Texas State  
CB Cale Sanders Jr. SMU 
CB Kam Alexander UTSA 
Nickel Bryce Anderson Texas A&M 
S Kaleb Culp Texas State 
S Rashad Wisdom UTSA 
P Joshua Sloan UTEP 

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!