Unsung Hero Archive

Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has partnered with Texas Farm Bureau Insurance to shine the spotlight on some of the most deserving young people in Texas Football with the Unsung Hero Award. Students honored are presented with an award at their school’s pep rally and Friday night football game.

In addition to the award and special recognition on TexasFootball.com, each student will receive $500 in scholarship money as an Unsung Hero recipient from Texas Farm Bureau Insurance. Congratulations to all of the winners!

2021 Unsung Hero Award Winners

Josh Ryan, Bridgeland HS

Verkobe Woodberry, Somerville HS

Jesse Sosa, Falfurrias HS

Lake Dallas' Eli Koch


Orangefield's Coby Coulter


2020 Unsung Hero Award Winners

Bovina's Fernando Martinez



Laredo United South's Brian Benavides

Hooks' Davarious Clark

Hays' Jake Jackson

Bonham' Brant Stuber



Field Vision: The Trevor King Story:

2019 Unsung Hero Award Winners

Klein's Ryan McDonald

Livingston's DeBrian Rains

Weatherford's Blake Maxwell

Texarkana Pleasant Grove's Connor Stanfill

Snyder's Jonathan Barrow

Vernon Northside's Trevor King

2018 Unsung Hero Award Winners

Brownsville St. Joseph's David Rodriguez

Denton Guyer's Cole Schroeder

Klein Cain's Jacob Munoz

Leander Glenn's Ayrton Hignojos

2017 Unsung Hero Award Winners

Lubbock Monterey's Tommy Calvillo

Hillsboro's Trae Haywood

John Tyler's Justin Samples

Stratford's Noah Harris and Pedro Ortega

2016 Unsung Hero Award Winners

Lubbock Monterey's Tommy Calvillo

Flower Mound Marcus' A.J. Wozniak

Pattonville Prairiland's Sam Cunningham

2015 Unsung Hero Award Winners

All winners listed here


Davarious Clark, Hooks High School

Brad Schupbach, Dallas Lutheran