UIL Top 100 Teams

Presented by

In celebration of 100 years of UIL Texas high school football, the UIL and Dave Campbell’s Texas Football have teamed up to honor the best, the brightest and the most unforgettable icons and legends in the sport’s illustrious history. With the help of some of the state’s foremost experts and historians, the UIL and DCTF will honor 100 of the most iconic teams in the state's illustrious history, presented by HEB.

Each week throughout the 2020 season, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football will announce 10 honorees on the list, an indelible honor to be known as one of the greatest in Texas high school football history. Fans will then have an opportunity to weigh in, voting for the team they think is the best of the best, to be named as a UIL 100 Fan’s Choice.

It all leads up to a celebration as big as Texas, celebrating the UIL’s 100 Teams — and the Fan’s Choice Top 10 — at the UIL Texas high school football state championship games at AT&T Stadium in Arlington this December.

UIL 100 YEARS, 100 TEAMS — WEEK 10

1985 Houston Yates
Yates’ legendary 1985 team was the first predominantly Black inner-city school to win the UIL 5A state championship and did it in one of the most dominating fashions in state history with five future NFL players on the roster. Luther Booker’s Lions were also the first program ever to go 16-0 in 5A and allowed under five points per game.

1999 Midland Lee
On the back of the late, great Cedric Benson, who was rated as the top player in the nation, Midland Lee’s 1999 Rebels are still the only unbeaten team in UIL school history. The three-year stretch at Lee under John Parchman in the late 90’s pumped out some of the best teams to ever come out of West Texas.

2013 Allen
Lead by arguably the best Texas High School quarterback to ever take the field, Kyler Murray lead his Eagles’ squad to a perfect 16-0 season claiming their second straight 5A Division-I State Title beating Pearland in dominating fashion, 63-28.
1933 Greenville
A team with its heart rooted in the trenches lead by offensive linemen, Joseph Hamrick, the Lions shutout Dallas Tech 21-0 to claim the 1933 UIL state championship.

1968 Austin Reagan 
The second of Reagan’s three-state title teams of the era, the Raiders knocked off Odessa Permian 17-11 in the state title game in front of 16,000 fans in San Angelo. Reagan posted an impressive 15-0 record outscoring opponents 394-51 on the year.  
1983 Bay City 
The Blackcats led by Hart Lee Dykes, rolled to a 15-0 record and the Class 4A state title in a shockingly dominating playoff run. Bay City rolled past national ranked Fort Bend Willowridge 42-0 in the regional finals and capped it off with a 30-0 win over Lubbock Estacado in the state title game. 

2007 Katy
Easily one of Gary Joseph’s best teams, the Tigers outscored opponents 701-132 on their way to a 16-0 record, which included a 28-7 win over Pflugerville in the 5A DII state title game.
1957 Corsicana Jackson
When you defeat your opposition in the state final game 48-0, you’re going to end up on this list. Jackson’s defense was flat dominant in the playoffs, only allowing 13 points.

1954 Phillips
One of Texas high school football's lost legends, Phillips may be a ghost town now, but in the 1940s and 50s, it was home to coach Chesty Walker's mighty Blackhawks, culminating in the 1954 undefeated 2A champs who beat their opponents by an average of more then 32 points per game.

2007 Richland Springs
The Coyotes' third state championship squad may be the greatest six-man team of all time, as senior star Tyler Ethridge and a sturdy group of veterans mowed down every team in their path, signaling to everyone the dawn of an undisputed dynasty.


Honorees Named to the "UIL 100 Years, 100 Teams" List

1953 Huntsville
1969 Iowa Park
2005 Celina 
1956 Austin Anderson

1983 Daingerfield  
1999 Mart 

2013 Aledo 
1934 Crowell

1953 Sugar Land
1988 Dallas Carter
1948 Monahans 
1967 Austin Reagan
1996 Lewisville 
1967 Lufkin Dunbar
1955 Stamford 
1988 Southlake Carroll 
1998 Tenaha
1932 Corsicana
1980 Pittsburg 
2011 Refugio
1949 Wichita Falls  
1977 Plano 
1987 West Orange-Stark
2012 Navasota
1978 Sealy 
1995 San Antonio Roosevelt
1940 Amarillo
1966 Sonora
2009 Abilene
1922 Waco
1971 San Antonio Lee   
1924 Dallas Oak Cliff 
1976 San Antonio Churchill 
1995 La Marque 
2008 Lake Travis
1928 Abilene
1945 Waco
1965 Brownwood
2012 Katy
1987 Cuero
1962 Jacksboro  
2003 Galena Park North Shore 
1974 Cuero 
1994 Stephenville
1943 San Angelo
 1921 Bryan
1944 Port Arthur
1976 Marathon
2005 Southlake Carroll
2018 Galena Park North Shore
1973 Tyler John Tyler
1993 Converse Judson
2003 Gainesville
2017 Texarkana Pleasant Grove
1945 Highland Park
1978 Houston Stratford
2000 Midland Lee
1960 Denver City
1985 Daingerfield
2018 Newton
1966 Sweeny
1992 Waxahachie
2001 Everman
2017 Carthage
1946 Odessa
1972 Odessa Permian
1994 Tyler John Tyler
1958 Pflugerville
1973 Big Sandy
1993 Stephenville
1989 Fort Hancock
1959 Corpus Christi Ray
2001 Ennis
2015 Katy
1956 Stamford
1989 Odessa Permian
1932 Fort Worth Masonic Home
1979 Temple
1985 Jayton

1996 Austin Westlake
1938 Corpus Christi (Miller)
1987 Plano
2000 Celina
2015 Canadian

1937 Longview
1975 Big Sandy

1989 Groveton
1957 Nederland
1998 Trinidad

2016 West Orange-Stark