Past Seasons

  • 2022  (5 - 8)
  • 2021  (4 - 8)
  • 2020  (2 - 3)
  • 2019  (3 - 8)
  • 2018  (2 - 11)
  • Click a season above to view results.

Program History

  • National Titles: 0
  • Conference Titles: 8
  • All-Time Record: 466-589-32
  • Heisman Winners: 0
  • Consensus All-Americans: 6
  • Stadium: Rice Stadium
  • Stadium Capacity: 47,000

Rice Owls

Rice fielded its first team in 1914 and were John Heisman's final coaching job in the late 1920s. The Owls became Houston's premier college program in the 1940s and 50s under head coach Jess Neely in the Southwest Conference amassing three Cotton Bowl wins and four SWC championships. The Owls went 18 years without an All-American before quarterback Tommy Kramer in 1976 and another 15 years before Trevor Cobb's breakout season in 1991. Ken Hatfield broke a near 40-year conference title drought in 1994 and David Bailiff helped build the program back to respectability in 2007. Today, Mike Bloomgren has brought in the #IntellectualBrutality motto from Stanford and has built a rising power. 


Republic of Football Podcast: The Roost

Subscribe on Apple Podcasts and Spotify
Site: Main Site and Patreon
Social: Twitter
Podcast Feed:

Hosts: Matthew Bartlett and Carter Spires



2023 Schedule6 - 6

  • OpponentDate
  • @ Rice, L 10-379/02
  • Houston, W 43-419/09
  • Texas Southern, W 59-79/16
  • @ USF, L 29-429/23
  • East Carolina, W 24-179/30
  • UConn, L 31-3810/07
  • Tulsa, W 42-1010/19
  • Tulane, L 28-3010/28
  • SMU, L 31-3611/04
  • @ UTSA, L 14-3411/11
  • @ Charlotte, W 28-711/18
  • FAU, W 24-2111/25

Depth Chart

Position Starter Backup Reserve
WR (X) Sr. Bradley Rozner    
WR(Z) Sr. Cedric Patterson III    
WR (F) Jr. Luke McCaffrey    
LT Sr. Clay Servin    
LG Soph. Trey Phillippi    
OC Jr. Braeden Nutter    
RG Soph. John Long    
RT Soph. Ethan Onianwa    
TE Sr. Jack Bradley    
QB Sr. JT Daniels    
RB Sr. Juma Otoviano    
Defense - 3-4      
Position Starter Backup Reserve
DE Jr. Coleman Coco    
NT Sr. Izeya Floyd    
DT Jr. De'Braylon Carroll    
RUSH Jr. Josh Pearcy    
MLB Sr. Chris Conti    
WLB Jr. Myron Morrison    
CB Jr. Sean Fresch    
CB Jr. Jordan Dunbar    
SS Jr. Gabe Taylor    
FS Soph. Marcus Williams    
VIPER Sr. Chike Anigbogu    
Special Teams      
Position Starter Backup Reserve
Kicker Sr. Conor Hunt    
Punter Jr. Tim Horn    


Coming soon.

Coaching Staff

Mike BloomgrenHead Coach
Peter AlamarAssociate Head Coach and Special Teams
Marques TuiasosopoOffensive Coordinator and Quarterbacks
Brian SmithDefensive Coordinator and Safeties
John SettleRunning Backs
Cedric CalhounDefensive Line
Sanders DavisOffensive Line
Jon KayLinebackers
Mike KershawWide Receivers
Jeremy ModkinsCornerbacks
Lucas ReesTight Ends

Transfer Players

Coming soon.

News & Videos

Become a DCTF Subscriber Today!

Get exclusive insight from the best team of reporters in the Lone Star State!

Become a DCTF Subscriber Today!

Get exclusive insight from the best team of reporters in the Lone Star State!

2023 Magazine Team Preview