Celina Wins Inaugural Small School FSN Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

COLLEGE STATION – Celina won its second 7-on-7 football state title Thursday, beating Crane 28-21 in the final of the small-school division of the FSN Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship.

For the first time in the 10-year history of the event, a small-school division was created for teams from Class 3A and below. Celina, which competes in 2A, is the only school lower than 4A to win the state tournament when it featured only one division, taking the title in 2000. 

Celina joins Baytown Lee as the only two-time champions in the tournament's history. 

Quarterback Seth Davis threw two touchdown passes to Jose Romero and tournament MVP D'Anton Lynn made the game's only interception as Celina never trailed in the final game. 

Crane had a chance to force overtime, but a fourth-down pass into the end zone sailed high with 20 seconds remaining in the game. 

Crane reached the final with a 51-49 double-overtime win over Mabank in the semifinal round. Celina beat Diboll 25-19 in the other semifinal, avenging a loss in pool play on Thursday. 

Division II Bracket Play

* First Round *
Palacios 53, Marlin 30
Crane 41, New Waverly 7
West Orange-Stark 49, Gonzales 30
Harper 42, Sundown 0
Mabank 54, Madisonville 19
Canton 31, Hardin 20
Pleasant (bye)
Rockdale 20, Elysian Fields 14
Hitchcock 49, Lindsay 31
Celina 35, Bandera 20
Graham 41, Aransas Pass 36
Pilot Point 48, West 28
Navasota 54, Somerville 20
Melissa 39, La Villa 32
Normangee 44, Glen Rose 41
Diboll (bye)

* Second Round *
Crane 26, Palacios 18
West Orange-Stark 31, Harper 15
Mabank 46, Canton 26
Pleasanton 33, Rockdale 25
Celina 29, Hitchcock 20
Pilot Point 37, Graham 31
Navasota 33, Melissa 21
Diboll 33, Normangee 27

* Quarterfinals *
Crane 40, West Orange-Stark 32
Mabank 49, Pleasanton 48
Celina 34, Pilot Point 0
Diboll 31, Navasota 27

* Semifinals *
Crane 51, Mabank 49 (2 OT)
Celina 25, Diboll 19

* Championship *
Celina 28, Crane 21


FSN Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship All-Tournament Team
J.J. Hayes, Diboll
Tyler Esparza, Crane
Tim Curry, Elysian Fields
Dexter Pratt, Navasota
Josh Golston, West Orange-Stark
Hayden Blair, Mabank
Darius Dotson, Hitchcock
Jordan Turner, Hitchcock
Teague Esparza, Crane
Keavon Milton, Canton
Lloyd Chisum, Crane
Seth Davis, Celina
Jose Romero, Celina
MVP - D'Anton Lynn, Celina

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 61 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!