Dave Campbell's Texas Football and Whataburger team up to unveil the 2019 Whataburger Super Team

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

DALLAS – Dave Campbell’s Texas Football and Whataburger are proud to honor the best and brightest stars in Texas high school football with the announcement of the 2019 Whataburger Super Team.

Texas high school football fans across the state cast over 300,000 ballots on TexasFootball.com, and 40 outstanding athletes from all parts of Texas rose to the top to be named with this unique honor.



Quarterback: Haynes King, Longview

Running Backs: Colton Marshall, Hawley; Aaron Dumas, El Paso Americas

Receivers: Marvin Mims, Frisco Lone Star; Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Rockwall; Ryan Lindley, Austin Westlake

Offensive Line: Dameion George, Galena Park North Shore; Jaylen Garth, Port Neches-Groves;

Ty'Kieast Crawford, Carthage; Jake Majors, Prosper; Branson Hickman, Dallas Jesuit

Utility: Malik Hornsby, Fort Bend Marshall; Brady Lyssy, Falls City; Loic Fouonji, Midland Lee; Dane Jentsch, Grandview

Kicker: Tyler Loop, Lucas Lovejoy



Defensive Line: Chidozie Nwankwo, Richmond Foster; Alec Bryant, Alvin Shadow Creek; Princely Umanmielen, Manor; LB Moore, Amarillo Tascosa

Linebackers: Corey Flagg, Galena Park North Shore; Jax McCauley, Austin Vandegrift; Brandon Adame, Mercedes

Defensive Backs: Dylon Davis, Abilene Cooper; Jaylon Jones, Cibolo Steele; RJ Mickens, Southlake Carroll; Luden Romero, Stratford

Utility: Miles Skinner, Keller Central; Drew Sanders, Denton Ryan; Luke Horne, Cedar Park Vista Ridge; Lorando Johnson, Lancaster

Punter: Fabrizio Pinton, The Woodlands



Quarterback: AJ Sotelo, Edinberg Vela

Running Back: Tito Byce, Argyle

Wide Receiver: AJ Gonzaque, Missions Veterans Memorial

Offensive Line: Cedric Mitton, Klein Cain

Offensive Line: Jorge Hinojosa, Edinberg Vela

Linebacker: Makel Williams, A&M Consolidated

Defensive Back: Seven Sanchez, PSJA North

Utility: Dwight McGlothern, Klein Oak


Headliners of the team include Longview quarterback and Texas A&M signee Haynes King, Rockwall wide receiver and Ohio State commit Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Frisco Lone State wide receiver and Oklahoma commit Marvin Mims, Denton Ryan athlete and Alabama commit Drew Sanders, and Cibolo Steele cornerback and Texas A&M commit Jaylon Jones.


“Picking the Whataburger Super Team is not an easy task, and I’m not-so-secretly glad that Texas high school football fans were the ones who made the choices instead of the Texas Football staff,” Greg Tepper, Texas Football managing editor, said. “This is a list of the finest players in Texas high school football and picking out the best of the best is hard work. But I commend the fans — they selected a fine group of athletes that represent the best of Texas high school football all across the state.”


In total, of the 40 Whataburger Super Team honorees, more than 30 of them are expected to play at the next level.


“Whataburger is proud to partner with Dave Campbell’s Texas Football to highlight and honor some of the most talented players from our home state,” said Rich Scheffler, Whataburger Vice President of Marketing and Innovation. “We hope we can continue to fuel more victories for these Texas high school football stars and their fans.”


Former Super Team winners include Andrew Luck (Stratford HS, Indianapolis Colts), Garrett Gilbert (Lake Travis HS, Carolina Panthers), Malcom Brown (Brenham HS, Los Angeles Rams), Jonathan Gray (Aledo HS, NFL), Kyler Murray (Allen HS, OU), Jamal Adams (Hebron HS, New York Jets) and Malik Jefferson (Mesquite Poteet HS, Cincinnati Bengals).


For more information on the Whataburger Super Team, visit www.texasfootball.com/whatasuperteam


About Dave Campbell’s Texas Football:

For nearly 60 years, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has been “the bible” to millions of football fans across the Lone Star State. The annual summer edition of the magazine remains a rite of passage for all Texans, previewing every football team in the state — from the rabid world of Texas high school football, through the college ranks, and into the Dallas Cowboys and the Houston Texans. Over the course of six decades, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football remains the undisputed leader in Texas high school football, Texas college football and more.TexasFootball.com is the online home of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, covering high school football, college football and recruiting all across the Lone Star State. From thought-provoking commentary to videos to podcasts to its daily live show, nobody covers football in Texas like TexasFootball.com.

About Whataburger:

Whataburger has focused on its fresh, made-to-order burgers and friendly customer service since 1950 when Harman Dobson opened the first Whataburger as a small roadside burger stand in Corpus Christi, Texas. Dobson gave his restaurant a name he hoped to hear customers say every time they took a bite of his made-to-order burgers: “What a burger!” Within the first week, people lined up around the block for his 25 cent, 100 percent beef burgers served on five-inch buns. Today, the company is headquartered in San Antonio, Texas, with more than 830 locations in 10 states with sales of more than $2 billion annually. Visit www.whataburger.com for more information.

Check out the company on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and on Snapchat, @WhataburgerLife. Stay updated on the latest Whataburger news at What’s Cookin’.



This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 61 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!