Graham Harrell, Michael Huff represent State of Texas on 2025 College Football Hall of Fame ballot


Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

The 2025 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot released Monday morning, with 77 FBS players, nine FBS coaches, 101 non-FBS players and 34 non-FBS coaches up for induction. Players are eligible 10 full seasons after their last intercollegiate season played. The Hall of Fame Class will be announced January 2025.

While the full ballot list can be found here, this is a list of all the Texas ties.

SMU defensive back Russell Carter

Carter was a three-time All Southwest Conference performer who led SMU to back-to-back top-five finishes in 1981 and 1982. He was a consensus All-American in 1983 before getting drafted tenth overall by New York Jets. 

TCU running back Kenneth Davis

Davis had a historic 1984 campaign for TCU with 1,611 yards on a nation-best 7.6 yards per carry. He earned 1984 Southwest Conference Offensive Player of the Year. 

Rice wide receiver Jarett Dillard 

Dillard holds the NCAA record with 60 career touchdown receptions and the Conference USA record with 4,138.  Needless to say, Dillard dominates the Rice record book.

Texas Tech running back Byron Hanspard 

Hanspard broke the Texas Tech records for rushing yards in a career (4,219) and rushing yards in a season (2,084). He was a 1996 unanimous All-American and Doak Walker Award winner.

Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell

Harrell is second in Big 12 history with 15,793 career passing yards. This is the Texas Tech great's second time on the ballot. His favorite target, Michael Crabtree, was inducted in 2022. 

Texas defensive back Michael Huff

Huff was an All-American and Thorpe Award winner on Texas's 2005 national championship team before becoming a top ten NFL Draft selection. 

Texas offensive lineman Dan Neil

Neil set the program record for consecutive starts and was a back-to-back First Team All-American in 1995-96.

FBS Coach Ballot

Jim Carlen (Texas Tech)

Carlen was a three-time Southwest Conference Coach of the Year and won 1973 National Coach of the Year during his five-season run at Texas Tech.

Pete Cawthorn Sr. (Texas Tech/Austin College)

Cawthorn Sr. led Texas Tech to its first Cotton Bowl appearance and a 10–0 record in 1938. He has the highest win percentage (69.3%) of any Red Raiders head coach with over three seasons.

Larry Coker (UTSA)

Coker led Miami to two-consecutive BCS National Championships and was the first UTSA football coach when the program started in 2009. He was inducted into the UTSA Athletics Inaugural Hall of Fame class in 2023.

Tommy Tuberville (Texas Tech)

Tuberville led Auburn to a perfect 13–0 record and was the National Coach of the Year in 2004. He later posted a 20–17 mark from 2010-12 at Texas Tech.

Non-FBS Ballot

UT-Arlington defensive end Bruce Collie

Collie led UTA to the 1981 Southland Conference title and was a First-Team All-American in 1984. He played six NFL seasons with San Franscisco and Philadelphia.

Sam Houston running back Timothy Flanders 

Flanders is the only running back in Southland Conference in rushing four consecutive seasons from 2010-13. He is Sam Houston's all-time leading rusher.

Texas State running back Claude Mathis

Before he was winning back-to-back state titles as DeSoto's head coach, Mathis was going back-to-back as the Southland Conference's Player of the Year. He is Texas State's all-time leading rusher with 4,691 yards.

Texas Southern defensive lineman Michael Strahan

Strahan is already a NFL Hall of Famer member, but it's about time he got inducted into the College Footbal Hall of Fame as a two-time SWAC Defensive Player of the Year. He's Texas Southern's all-time leader with 41.5 career sacks. 

Non-FBS Coach Ballot

Steve Mohr (Trinity)

Mohr won 16 conference titles from 1990-2013 leading Trinity and holds the SCAC record with 186 overall wins. 

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!