DCTF announces annual 40 Under 40 coaching honorees

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

LEWISVILLE -- Dave Campbell’s Texas Football magazine revealed its list of 40 Under 40 coaches from the state of Texas, including 30 Texas high school football coaches and 10 college football coaches. The honorees will be featured in the 2021 summer preview edition of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football magazine. 

The list includes 10 college football coaches from unique institutions, including seven FBS schools, one FCS, one Division II and one Division III. Three coordinators made the list, along with four offensive position coaches, three defensive assistant coaches and an assistant head coach. Two of the three small college coaches have won national championships at their institutions. 

Here is the full list of collegiate honorees on the 40 Under 40 List:

  • Shawn Bell, Baylor (Quarterbacks)
  • Ryan Carty, Sam Houston (Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks)
  • Zarnell Fitch, TCU (Defensive Line)
  • Blake Gideon, Texas (Safeties)
  • Julian Griffin, UTSA (Running Backs)
  • Jacob Peeler, Texas State (Offensive Coordinator)
  • Billy Riebock, Texas A&M-Commerce (Offensive Coordinator)
  • TJ Rushing, Texas A&M (Defensive Backs)
  • Ra’Shaad Samples, SMU (Assistant Head Coach/Running Backs)
  • Steven Thrash, Mary Hardin-Baylor (Wide Receivers)

Additionally, DCTF named 30 Texas high school coaches to the list of 40 Under 40 members. Three of the high school coaches played Texas college football at the FBS level. Here is a full list of honorees:

  • Courtney Allen, North Crowley
  • Garret Avalos, Rankin
  • Brian Bell, China Spring
  • Kevin Berneathy, Pasadena Dobie
  • Kasey Black, Rio Vista
  • Robert Boone, Carrollton Newman Smith
  • Trey Bryant, Richardson Berkner
  • Ervin Chandler, Princeton
  • Nick Codutti, Fulshear
  • Lance Cannot, Brownsboro
  • Alton Dixon, Crockett
  • Justen Evans, Corpus Christi Miller
  • Jahmal Fenner, Austin LBJ
  • Thad Fortune, Midland
  • Zac Harrell, Athens
  • Ben Hoffmeier, Bryan Brazos Christian
  • Nathan Larned, Houston Kinkaid
  • Will Littleton, PSJA Memorial
  • Jonny Louvier, Gladewater
  • DJ Mann, Lubbock Coronado
  • Ricky Joe Meeks, Center
  • Eric Mims, Amarillo Palo Duro
  • Daniel Novakov, Dallas Parish Episcopal
  • Eric Peevey, Little Cypress-Mauriceville
  • Frank Sandoval, West Mesquite
  • Cody Simper, Cy Woods
  • Cooper Thornhill, Blum
  • Joseph Turner, Fort Worth North Side
  • Logan Turner, Lone Oak
  • Kyle Westerberg, Whitehouse


This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 64 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!