Bryce "The Mountain" Foster is the First-Ever Interior OL to Earn DCTF Five-Star Honors

Bryce Foster

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

DCTF has updated the Hot 100 in the 2021 cycle and Katy Taylor OL Bryce Foster (6'5, 330) has earned the distinction of being named a five-star. 

The powerhouse is the first and only interior offensive lineman to earn five-star status in the DCTF rankings, dating back to the Class of 2012. 

Foster is the final player to be selected as a five-star prospect by Dave Campbell's Texas Football in the Class of 2021. He joins Fort Worth All Saints OL Tommy Brockermeyer, Bellaire Episcopal OL Donovan Jackson, Denton Ryan DE Ja'Tavion Sanders and Garland Lakeview Centennial RB Camar Wheaton on the prestigious list.

Foster has collected a lengthy offer list on the recruiting front but has narrowed his focus to five: Texas, Texas A&M, LSU, Oklahoma, Oregon. 

Foster is now rated as the No. 5 prospect overall and the No. 1 OG in the state per the DCTF Hot 100. 

In 2019, Foster helped the Mustangs pave the way to the 6A Division II semifinals and is a four-year varsity starter. 

Bryce Foster Scouting Report: 

Foster's defining attribute as a prospect is his awe-inspiring power, which shows through on tape and is verified off the field as he is the shot put and disc Junior Olympic National Champion and national record holder. 

Foster, who has his eyes on the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris, has helped his chances at early college playing time by showing an ability to play center on his senior film. 

On the field, Foster has earned the nickname 'The Mountain' for his size and ability to bully defensive linemen. His versatility and experience are great attributes, but his undeniable strength and power up front make him a rare find. 

DCTF's Five-Star Rankings History (2012-Present): 

  • 2021: OT Tommy Brockermeyer - FW All Saints (Alabama)
  • 2021: OT Donovan Jackson - Bellaire Episcopal (Ohio State)
  • 2021: DE Ja'Tavion Sanders - Denton Ryan (Texas)
  • 2021: RB Camar Wheaton - Lakeview Centennial (Uncommitted)
  • 2021: OG Bryce Foster - Katy Taylor (Uncommitted)
  • 2020: WR Jaxon Smith-Njigba - Rockwall (Ohio State)
  • 2020: ATH Drew Sanders - Denton Ryan (Alabama)
  • 2020: WR Demond Demas - Tomball (Texas A&M)
  • 2020: RB Zachary Evans - North Shore (TCU)
  • 2020: CB Jaylon Jones - Cibolo Steele (Texas A&M)
  • 2019: WR Garrett Wilson - Lake Travis (Ohio State)
  • 2019: DE DeMarvin Leal - Converse Judson (Texas A&M)
  • 2019: OT Kenyon Green - Atascocita (Texas A&M)
  • 2019: S Brian Williams - Bishop Dunne (Texas A&M)
  • 2019: WR Jordan Whittington - Cuero (Texas)
  • 2018: S Caden Sterns - Cibolo Steele (Texas)
  • 2018: S B.J. Foster - Angleton (Texas)
  • 2018: WR Jaylen Waddle - Bellaire Episcopal (Alabama)
  • 2018: CB Jalen Green - Houston Heights (Texas)
  • 2018: WR Brennan Eagles - Alief Taylor (Texas)
  • 2017: OT Walker Little - Bellaire Episcopal (Stanford)
  • 2017: DT Marvin Wilson - Bellaire Episcopal (Florida State)
  • 2017: CB Jeffrey Okudah - South Grand Prairie (Ohio State)
  • 2017: DE K'Lavon Chaisson - North Shore (LSU)
  • 2017: OLB Baron Browning - Kennedale (Ohio State)
  • 2016: OT Greg Little - Allen (Ole Miss)
  • 2016: DT Ed Oliver - Spring Westfield (Houston)
  • 2016: DT Kendell Jones - Killeen Shoemaker (Alabama)
  • 2016: DE Justin Madubuike - McKinney North (Texas A&M)
  • 2016: S Brandon Jones - Nacogdoches (Texas)
  • 2015: OLB Malik Jefferson - Mesquite Poteet (Texas)
  • 2015: CB Kendall Sheffield - Fort Bend Marshall (Alabama)
  • 2015: DT Daylon Mack - Gladewater (Texas A&M)
  • 2015: QB Jarret Stidham - Stephenville (Baylor) 
  • 2015: QB Kyler Murray - Allen (Texas A&M)
  • 2014: CB Tony Brown - Beaumont Ozen (Alabama)
  • 2014: DE Myles Garrett - Arlington Martin (Texas A&M)
  • 2014: S Jamal Adams - Hebron (LSU)
  • 2014: DE Solomon Thomas - Coppell (Stanford)
  • 2014: QB Jerrod Heard - Denton Guyer (Texas)
  • 2013: DT A'Shawn Robinson - FW Arlington Heights (Alabama)
  • 2013: ATH Ricky Seals-Jones - Sealy (Texas A&M)
  • 2013: WR Robbie Rhodes - FW Southwest (Baylor)
  • 2013: RB Keith Ford - Cy-Ranch (Oklahoma)
  • 2013: MLB Mike Mitchell - Plano Prestonwood (Ohio State)
  • 2012: DE Mario Edwards Jr. - Denton Ryan (Florida State)
  • 2012: RB Johnathan Gray - Aledo (Texas)
  • 2012: RB Trey Williams - DeKaney (Texas A&M)
  • 2012: DT Malcom Brown - Brenham (Texas)
  • 2012: WR Cayleb Jones - Austin (Texas)

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 61 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!