Graham Harrell, Michael Crabtree headline Texas Tech Hall of Fame class

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites

Legendary Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell and wide receiver Michael Crabtree will be inducted to the Texas Tech Hall of Fame in 2020, the Double T Varsity Club announced on Thursday. 

Crabtree and Harrell make up one of the most exciting duos in recent Texas college football memory. The Red Raiders graced the cover of Texas Football in 2008 with then-head coach Mike Leach, a cover that still ranks among the most popular in DCTF history. 

Harrell starred at Ennis High School under his father, Sam Harrell, before becoming a record-breaking quarterback in Lubbock. He threw for 15,793 passing yards over his career, which ranks No. 4 all-time. His 5,705 passing yards as a junior still ranks No. 2 all-time, only behind fellow Red Raider B.J. Symons. 

After a stint as offensive coordinator at North Texas, Harrell left to become the offensive coordinator at USC in 2019. 

Crabtree was one of the most prolific receivers in college football history the second he stepped on campus from storied Dallas Carter. He played only two seasons of college football, but won the Biletnikoff Award as the best receiver in college football both seasons; no other player had won the award twice. Crabtree finished his 26-game career with 3,127 yards and 41 touchdowns. 

After Texas Tech, Crabtree was drafted No. 10 overall in the 2009 NFL Draft. The 32-year-old has started 138 games with three different franchises and nearly reached 7,500 yards receiving as a pro. 

However, what the pair accomplished in 2008 remains the most memorable part of their story. Harrell completed a pass to Crabtree to beat No. 1 Texas on Nov. 1, 2008, that still remains one of the most iconic plays in college football history. The Red Raiders went on to win 11 games for the first time in 35 years and finished the regular season ranked in the AP Top 10. 

Five other notable Red Raiders will join Crabtree and Harrell in the Hall of Fame. 

  • Women’s thrower D’Andre Carter won an individual national championship in the discus at the 2009 NCAA Outdoor Championships. 

  • Volleyball standout Chris Martin earned a spot on the SWC All-Decade second team in the 80s. 

  • Basketball star Ronald Ross helped lead the Red Raiders to their first trip to the Sweet 16 in 2005. 

  • Infielder Jason Totman helped lead the Red Raiders to a school record 51 wins in 1995, and joins his wife – golfer Stacey Kolb Totman – in the Hall of Fame. 

  • Golfer Brooke Lawrence became the first Red Raider to earn All-America honors and earned All-Big 12 twice. 

“This is arguably one of the best classes we’ve inducted into the Texas Tech Hall of Fame,” said Rodney Allison, executive director of the Double T Varsity Club in a statement. “You can look at each of these inductees and fairly say they were among the top players we’ve had in each of their respective sports.”

At this time, there is no timeline for an induction ceremony for the 2020 class because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

This article is available to our Digital Subscribers.
Click "Subscribe Now" to see a list of subscription offers.
Already a Subscriber? Sign In to access this content.

Sign In
Don't Miss Any Exclusive Coverage!

We've been the Bible of Texas football fans for 61 years. By joining the DCTF family you'll gain access to all of our exclusive content and have our magazines mailed to you!