TXHSFB Regional Review: East Texas

Photo by Artie Guerrero

Photo by Artie Guerrero

Throughout February, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football managing editor Greg Tepper is taking a look back at the 2016 Texas high school football season in each region of the state. For a detailed explanation of the regional breakdowns as well as the rankings methodology, read this piece.

Big Country
Super Centex
Coastal Bend
Dallas-Fort Worth

Today: East Texas

Our friends out east are pretty proud of their Texas high school football reputations, and rightfully so. Year in and year out, east Texas (or, as they prefer to be known, #bEASTtexas) puts out some of the most exciting — and speedy — teams in the state. The 2016 season was no different.

For the sake of clarity, here is a map of how we are defining “East Texas.”

Now that we’ve set the boundaries, let’s break down the best of high school football in the DFW region in 2016.

Top 20

Regional Rank Team (Record) Class
1 Carthage (13-2) 4A DI
2 Mineola (14-2) 3A DI
3 Malakoff (14-1) 3A DI
4 Gilmer (13-2) 4A DII
5 Arp (12-3) 3A DII
6 Tenaha (13-1) 2A DII
7 Van (12-2) 4A DI
8 Henderson (11-2) 4A DI
9 Tyler John Tyler (11-2) 6A
10 Elysian Fields (12-1) 3A DII
11 Gladewater (8-3) 4A DII
12 Longview (8-3) 6A
13 White Oak (10-2) 3A DI
14 Winona (8-6) 3A DII
15 Gilmer Harmony (9-3) 3A DII
16 Kilgore (7-5) 4A DI
17 New London West Rusk (7-4) 3A DII
18 Overton (8-3) 2A DII
19 Joaquin (7-4) 2A DI
20 Jefferson (9-3) 3A DI

Player of the Year
QB Jeremiah Crawford, Mineola
Two years after falling short in the state championship game, Crawford put the Yellow Jackets on his back and brought them back to AT&T Stadium, using his dual-threat ability to bring Mineola its first state championship in the program’s more-than-100-year history.

Honorable Mentions
Gilmer QB Aaron “Poppy” Brown
John Tyler QB Bryson Smith
Tenaha QB CJ Horn
Arp RB Kayce Medlock
Henderson QB Trestan Ebner

Coach of the Year
Scott Surratt, Carthage
Another year, another state title for the mighty Bulldogs from out east, thanks in large part to their leader, who continues to set the standard for modern small-school high school football.

Honorable Mentions
Joe Drennon, Mineola
Scott Ford, Elysian Fields
Jared Moffatt, Van
Phil Castles, Henderson

Related Posts