TXHSFB Regional Review: Dallas-Fort Worth

Photo by John Hamilton

Photo by John Hamilton

Throughout February, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football managing editor Greg Tepper is taking a look back at the 2016 Texas high school football season in each region of the state. For a detailed explanation of the regional breakdowns as well as the rankings methodology, read this piece.

Big Country
Super Centex
Coastal Bend

Today: The Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex

There’s maybe no greater debate among Texas high school football wonks than what constitutes Dallas-Fort Worth. We here at Dave Campbell’s Texas Football consider the borders of DFW to be as such:

East to Terrell
West to Aledo
North to McKinney (though not including Denton)
South to Corsicana

And honestly, even that’s a little too generous for my tastes — it comprises 170 public 11-man football teams, by far the largest region in the state. But at least it’s intellectually consistent.

For the visually driven, here is a map of how we are defining “Dallas-Fort Worth.”

Now that we’ve set the boundaries, let’s break down the best of high school football in the DFW region in 2016.

Top 20

Regional Rank Team (Record) Class
1 Aledo (16-0) 5A
2 DeSoto (16-0) 6A
3 Highland Park (14-2) 5A
4 Allen (14-1) 6A
5 Cedar Hill (11-3) 6A
6 Lancaster (12-2) 5A
7 Mesquite Poteet (11-4) 5A
8 Southlake Carroll (10-2) 6A
9 Mansfield Legacy (11-3) 5A
10 Colleyville Heritage (10-4) 5A
11 Mansfield (10-3) 6A
12 Grapevine (10-2) 5A
13 Wylie East (9-4) 5A
14 Kennedale (11-4) 4A DI
15 Duncanville (11-3) 6A
16 Argyle (11-1) 4A DI
17 Frisco Lone Star (10-2) 5A
18 Richland (10-2) 5A
19 Mansfield Lake Ridge (8-5) 5A
20 Fort Worth South Hills (10-1) 5A

Player of the Year
QB Shawn Robinson, DeSoto
Shaking off a disappointing junior season at Denton Guyer, Robinson shot into the stratosphere with game-changing play after game-changing play, finally guiding the Eagles to their elusive first state championship.

Honorable Mentions
Wylie East RB Eno Benjamin
Mansfield RB Kennedy Brooks
Kennedale LB Baron Browning
Highland Park LB John House
Cedar Hill WR Charleston Rambo

Coach of the Year
Steve Wood, Aledo
After last year’s state semifinal loss, Wood turned the Bearcats back into their usual juggernaut self, now boasting an insane 44-3 record as Aledo’s head coach.

Honorable Mentions
Randy Allen, Highland Park
Kody Groves, Mesquite Poteet
Joe Willis, Colleyville Heritage
Chris Gilbert, Lancaster
Ged Kates, Richland

Related Posts