Dave Campbell’s Texas Football and the Texas Bowl proudly announce the 10 finalists for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year Award presented by Wells Fargo.

Mr. Texas Football presented by Wells Fargo annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on TexasFootball.com. At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists are named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2017 Mr. Texas Football Award presented by Wells Fargo will be announced prior to the 2017 Texas Bowl, which will be played on Wednesday, Dec. 27 at NRG Stadium in Houston.

Former winners of the award include 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), Tampa Bay Buccaneers running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated) and Carolina Panthers quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Texas A&M freshman wide receiver Roshauud Paul took home the award in 2016.

The 2017 Texas Bowl will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents. The 2016 Texas Bowl, which was among the top-5 most-attended bowls in the country for the third consecutive year, featured the Kansas State Wildcats, representing the Big 12 Conference, and the Texas A&M Aggies, representing the SEC. The Wildcats defeated the Aggies 33-28 behind quarterback Jesse Ertz’s MVP-winning performance. Overall, the Texas Bowl has ranked fourth in attendance since 2014, trailing only the Rose, Cotton and Peach Bowls in that time.

For more information, visit TheTexasBowl.com.

RB Daimarqua Foster, Wichita Falls Hirschi
QB Qua Gray, Lubbock Coronado
QB Grant Gunnell, Houston St. Pius X
QB/DB Brian Hamilton, Albany
RB Keaontay Ingram, Carthage
QB Roschon Johnson, Port Neches-Groves
QB Tanner Mordecai, Hewitt Midway
QB Jackson Sampson, New Diana
QB Spencer Sanders, Denton Ryan
QB Julon Williams, Converse Judson

Wells Fargo and Dave Campbell’s Texas Football area proud to present the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year award.  This year’s winner will be honored at the Advocare V100 Texas Bowl at the end of the season.

Past winners of the award:

2016: QB Roshauud Paul, Bremond

2015: QB Jett Duffey, Mansfield Lake Ridge

2014: QB Kyler Murray, Allen

2013: QB Kyler Murray, Allen

2012: RB Dontre Wilson, DeSoto

2011: RB Johnathan Gray, Aledo

2010: QB Johnny Manziel, Kerrville Tivy

2009: QB Darian “Stump” Godfrey, Gilmer

2008: QB Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis

2007: RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Lamar Consolidated

Nominate a Player for Mr. Texas Football Player of the Week!

Check out Texas Football Today, the daily live show dedicated to Texas high school football and Texas college football! Every weekday at 12 p.m. CT on TexasFootball.com!


iTunesGoogle Play — Stitcher

The Latest from Matt Stepp



Subscriptions start at
per year

Subscribe Today!

Purchase Magazines

[poll id="162"]