THSCA all-star football squads heavy with Aggie flavor once again
THSCA all-star football squads heavy with Aggie flavor once again
2009-04-15 00:00:00

QUICK LINKS: North Roster | South Roster

At some point, we might have to insert "A&M" between the "T" and the "HSCA," because for the second straight year, the Aggies have a host of representatives in the state's annual all-star game.

Texas A&M, which supplied a DI-leading eight all-stars last year, has five 2009 signees slated to play in the Texas High School Coaches Association all-star football game July 21. Ironically, the game will be played on the UT campus at Darrell K. Royal Texas Memorial Stadium.

That is a fitting site considering Texas will have four signees spread between the north and south rosters, most notably local product Garrett Gilbert. The Lake Travis QB finished his career as a two-time state champion and set or finished near the top in several state record categories, including the career mark for passing yards (12,537).

Despite Texas A&M's contributions, Rice edged out all fellow Texas FBS (formerly DI) schools with six selections.

Both Baylor and SMU will have three signees on display, while Texas Tech had two players selected.

North Texas, Houston, TCU and UTEP will not have any players on the rosters.


Lance Ratliff4ARECFrenshipBrad DavisW. TX A&M
Jace Jackson4AWRSulphur SpringsGreg OwensSam Houston
Jeremiah Williams5ARBAllenTom WesterbergTrinity CC
Frank Reddic4AFBKilgoreMike ValleryTexas State
Tevin Mims5ADEStony PointCraig ChessherTexas
Tony Peoples4AWRThe ColonyRudy RangelTulsa
Jacob Villanueva1ACBRoscoeWes WilliamsN/A
Blake McColloch3AILBMid. GreenwoodSteve TaylorTexas State
LaMarcus Howard4ACBLongviewJohn KingNW Louisiana
Kenneth Turner3ACBSnyderChad RogersN/A
Lloyd Chisum2AFSCraneNaldo EsparzaN/A
Wes Wood2AQBMuleshoeDavid WoodEastern NM
Yahshua Williams4ACBDenton RyanJoey FlorenceTexas Tech
Bryce Petty4AQBMidlothianRobby ClarkBaylor
Kaleb Horsford1ACBStratfordEddie MetcalfW. TX A&M
Danny Reyes1ARECCanadianKyle LynchW. TX A&M
Josh Bridges2AQBCiscoBrent WestN/A
Sean Reagan2ADTIdalouJohnny TaylorN/A
Cisco Rey5AOLBEP FranklinDaren WalkerN/A
Charley Waldrep3ARBCelinaButch FordAlabama
Brandon Jeffery4AILBDenisonCody WhiteMidwestern
Jesse Jennings3AOLBAbilene WylieHugh SandiferAbl. Christian
Chris Boswell5AKPFossil RidgeTony BaccariniRice
Jonathan Miller5ARBNaaman ForestBill PattersonOklahoma
Jeff Howeth4ALBHighland ParkRandy AllenNW Missouri
Josh Emmons4ADTStephenvilleJoseph GillespieN/A
Brandon Terry3ADTLiberty HillJerry VanceIncarnate Word
Weston Richburg2AOLBushlandDavid FlowersColorado St.
Joel Gray5AOTHebronBrian BrazilTexas Tech
Cole Dafft3ACProsperKent ScottNW Missouri
Keenan Flax5AOGCypress RidgeGary ThiebaudHouston
Ryan Layman3ADEMonahansMickey OwensN/A
Andrew Ratliff3AOTLlanoDavid YeagerSFA
Alex Lowry2AOGCaddo MillsSteve SumrowRice
Garrett Porter5AOTOdessa PermianDarren AllmanTexas
Jerod Monk5ATEWylieBill HowardBaylor
Joseph Warren1ADTSeymourJosh CastlesAbl. Christian
Brandon Henderson4AILBAbilene CooperMike SpradlinSMU

Head Coach: Mickey Owens
Assistant Coaches: Kade Burns, Chris Simpson, David Burnett, Rusty Roark, Robert Dixon, Mickey Mitchell, Wade Gilliam, Ronnie Golsan, Kurt White, Fred Howard
Trainer: Brent Harris

Chairman: Bill Patterson, Naaman Forest HS
Committeemen: (5A) Phil Lopez, EP Bel Air HS; (4A) Jim Skinner, NRH Birdville HS;
(3A) Jeff Cordell, Andrews HS; (2A) Rusty Purser, Floydada HS; (1A) Patrick Corcoran, Munday HS


Dustin Harris4AFS/WRLivingstonRandy RoweTexas A&M
Sean Porter4ALBSchertz ClemensGreg FerraraTexas A&M
Kendrick Washington4ACBBrenhamGlen WestTulane
Brandal Jackson3AWR/DBNavasotaLee FedoraTexas A&M
Tyler Copeland1AQBWest HardinDave WestfallSam Houston
Joseph Bonugli5AFSSA WarrenBryan DausinKansas St.
Garrett Gilbert4AQBLake TravisChad MorrisUniv. of TX
A.J. Dugat4ACBDaytonJerry StewartHouston
Carl Moore2ATE/MLBDaingerfieldBarry BowmanN/A
Aron Franklin3AWRGoliadGreg AlthofSMU
Daxton Swanson3AWR/CBLa VegaWillie WilliamsToledo
Colby Summers1AWR/FSMartRusty NailUMHB
Joe Jones3AWR/SCarthageScott SurrattNavarro JC
Chris McAllister5ALBJudsonJim RackleyBaylor
Greg Timmons5AWRH. EisenhowerRay EvansTexas
Chris Whaley3ARBMadisonvilleGreg MorganTexas
Joseph Maldonado2ARBHebbronvilleRobert GomezN/A
Patrick Cranchelli5AFBMcAllen MemorialBill LittletonTLU
Zacchaeus Foster2ARBRice ConsolidatedBrad DumontBlinn JC
Parker Stevens5ACBKaty TaylorFlint RisienGeorgia St.
Broderick Jackson2ATB/FSKirbyvilleJack AlvarezRice
Dustin Stapp1ALB/FBJunctionCory SpiveyMHBaylor
Mike Gamble3ADE/FBMexiaLee WigintonCisco JC
Orlando Humble2ADT/FBWhite OakTracy BlankenshipNavarro JC
Nicholas Hammett3ATE/LBRockdaleJeff MillerRice
Will McLane5ACSmithson ValleyLarry HillTarleton
Bo Adams2ADERefugioJason HerringN/A
Klayton Smith3AGCueroMark ReeveIncarnate Word
Ben Hughes5ACFB AustinTom StuartSMU
Rhontae Scales4ATKilleenSam JonesTexas A&M
Cade Shaw4ATCC CalallenPhil DanaherRice
Brady Brown5AGSA O’ConnorDanny PadronA&M Kingsville
Jon Hodde1AOTBurtonClinton SmithRice
Jordan Norfleet5ADEClear BrookPaul LanierTexas State
Jesus Vargas5AKPDonnaManuel MorenoN/A
Jelani Johnson5ADEHightowerShane HallmarkN/A
Elvin Tapong5ANTKatyGary JosephN/A
Spencer Nealy5ADTSA ReaganDavid WetzelTexas A&M

Head Coach: Gary Joseph
Assistant Coaches: Gregg Miller, Pat Dowling, John Rowland, Bobby Ortiz, Mickey Thompson, Richard Slater, Tim Ripperger, Matt McDaniel, Joaquin Garcia, Doug McRorey, BJ Gotte
Trainer: Justin Landers

Chairman: Dean DeAtley, Clute Brazoswood HS
Committeemen: (5A) Pete Gibbens, SA Wagner HS; (4A) Kevin Flanigan, Crosby HS; (3A) Brent Mascheck, Columbus HS; (2A) Jerry Long, East Bernard HS; (1A) Russell Joy, Mason HS

Please remember that you are responsible for the content you post on Any content containing profanity, personal attacks, antisocial behavior, or is otherwise inappropriate will be removed from our website. Users who fail to abide by these guidelines may be permanently banned. The comments/ideas shared in the Facebook commenting system do not reflect the views of Dave Campbell¹s Texas Football.

If you would like to report inappropriate behavior within the Facebook commenting system, please email and we will review your request.

Subscribe to DCTF

Forgot Your Password?

Not a subscriber yet?
By registering on you'll get instant access to exclusive content and printed magazines. learn more »

Mr. Texas Football
Special Offer

What is being overheard around the state of Texas

WaterCooler Talk
Well deserved for RG3. First the Heisman and now the cover of DCTF. He's certainly getting all the best awards!Ben — Reading, England

Grab your copy of the 2015 Summer Edition of Dave Campbell's Texas Football today!

coming soon magazine cover