Coaching changes

Which high school coaches are already on the move? Contributors

Desoto’s Claude Mathis likely headed to SMU

It looks like the Claude Mathis tenure as DeSoto’s head football coach is coming to an end.

Mathis is likely to accept the offer to join Chad Morris’ staff at SMU as the running backs coach, a source told the Dallas Morning News.

Mathis served as the head coach at Austin LBJ from 2005-2007 and posted a 21-15 record during his tenure with the team. In three seasons with LBJ, Mathis led the Jaguars to their first postseason appearance in over a decade and three consecutive playoff appearances.

In 2008, Mathis left LBJ and accepted the position to replace Dave Meadows as DeSoto’s head football coach. Since then, Mathis has pioneered the Eagles as one of the state’s best football programs. DeSoto went 74-18 in seven seasons under Mathis. 

Keep in mind, Mathis has had a change of heart before, resigning in January 2012 to take the same position at Houston before he decided to stay with DeSoto.

— Eric Siner 

Fuller resigns as Arlington Lamar’s head coach

Arlington Lamar head coach Trent Fuller has resigned as the team’s head football coach. Fuller spent five seasons with the program, but his job was in jeopardy since the school was unwilling to renew his contract.

Fuller departed as Arlington Bowie’s offensive coordinator and replaced the school’s only head coach, Eddy Peach, during the 2010 season. Lamar went 34-23 and reached the playoffs in all five seasons since Fuller took over. He also won the District Coach of the Year award in 2013.

In high school, Fuller set several passing records and was named All-District Offensive Player of the Year during his junior season at Arlington High.

Football runs in the Fuller family, as his father Dave Fuller was a former Arlington assistant football coach. His brother, Mike Fuller is Decatur’s head football coach.

— Eric Siner  

Blackshear steps down 

It’s been a rocky road for Cy Lakes, and it took another hit this offseason. Head coach and athletic coordinator Robert Blackshear stepped down Thursday but will continue to work with the district in another capacity.

Blackshear and the Spartans went winless for the past two years and have never fielded a winning team with three all-time varsity wins, so Cy Lakes is hoping for new direction in the coming years.

Athletic director Ed Warken told the Cypress Creek Mirror that the hiring process is just underway, but he expects a rise in applicant numbers because many people have respect for the district and will be attracted to the job.

“We hope to generate a good candidate pool and find the very best leader that we can for that football and athletic program over there,” he said.

— Jordan Ottaway 

Waxahachie HC announces retirement

Serving as the head football coach for 15 years, athletic director for 10 years and accumulating 37 years of education experience, David Ream announced that he will retire at the end of the school year. He chose to announce his retirement now due to a small financial incentive.

Ream led the Indians to 12 playoff berth with seven 15-4A district titles and four bi-district titles in 2002, 2004, 2008 and 2011. He has racked up more than 100 wins in 15 years that comprised a 13-1 season in 2009, where he led Waxahachie to the state quarterfinals, so he leaves quite the legacy.

Ream told the Daily Light that he does not plan on going anywhere after retiring with all aspects of the resignation ending on good terms. Ream said will not miss the 80-hour work weeks, but will greatly miss his coaching staff.

“There’s been a really good run under a great, supportive community,” Ream said. “The kids have been great and I have a great coaching staff so there’s really no downside to it. I’ve enjoyed my time here.”

— Jordan Ottaway  

La Villa’s Joe Salinas is reassigned

After a disappointing 3-6 season, La Villa head coach Joe Salinas’ reassignment was announced on Wednesday Dec. 3. There has not been an official statement from La Villa on the cause of Salinas’ departure.

The Cardinals hit a rough patch in 2014 after putting together two solid seasons in 2012 (8-2) and 2013 (7-3), advancing to the regional and area rounds, respectively. La Villa finished this season tied for third in 2A-16 at 2-3 behind Ben Bolt and Three Rivers. 

— Jordan Ottaway 

Related Posts