Player of the Year

Dave Campbell's Texas Football is proud to partner with Wrangler Retro, Cavender's Boot City and the Texas Bowl in presenting the Gridiron Legends Texas High School Player of the Year award, formerly known as the Mr. Texas Football award.

Under the Texas Bowl partnership, fans, coaches and players can vote for the state’s Player of the Week by voting on

Each Player of the Week winner is eligible to be named Player of the Year, with fan voting deciding which Player of the Week recipient will join six at-large candidates for consideration for the honor. The Player of the Year will be honored at the Texas Bowl at the end of the season.

Fans can vote on which Player of the Week winner should be in the running, but the ballot won't be released until after the high school regular season has concluded. Check back in November for more information.

Past winners of the award:

2012: RB Dontre Wilson, DeSoto

2011: RB Johnathan Gray, Aledo

2010: QB Johnny Manziel, Kerrville Tivy

2009: QB Darian "Stump" Godfrey, Gilmer

2008: QB Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis

2007: RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Lamar Consolidated

Subscribe to DCTF

Forgot Your Password?

Not a subscriber yet?
By registering on you'll get instant access to exclusive content and printed magazines. learn more »

Mr. Texas Football
Special Offer

What is being overheard around the state of Texas

WaterCooler Talk
Robert Griffin definitely has a great smile. You might even say a Heisman Trophy-wining smile. Glad you captured it for the cover!Clifford — Houston, TX

Grab your copy of the 2015 Summer Edition of Dave Campbell's Texas Football today!

coming soon magazine cover